The Epiphany

in #teardrops6 years ago

IMG_20180706_233229.jpg

"You never miss the water till the well runs dry."

Isn't it funny how we've known this quote for the most part of our lives, and know what living it feels like, but yet we find ourselves in the same situation time after time.

We'd been friends for years now, so close that everyone could see that we were meant for each other, everyone but me. Going down memory lane, I remember that she'd known and had tried to make me see, but I was too blind, never paying attention.

So when she told me that she was engaged, I had a hard time believing it. In the weeks that followed, I finally saw the light, finally realized that she wasn't supposed to be with someone else, It was supposed to be me. It hit me like a shotgun shot to the heart. I loved her.

It's too late now, she's found someone else that adores her and she's happy, and I'm gonna spend the rest of my life wondering what might have been. I thought I could, but I can't handle it. How am I supposed to wear a tux, smile and pretend like I'm happy that she's tying the knot with someone else? How am I supposed to do that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97