5 Annoying Things You Shouldn't Say to South Africans

in #teamsouthafrica7 years ago

I suppose this goes for all cultures and countries really, but let us South Africans have our moment. Doesn't it just slightly grind your bones when you meet someone from another country and they start throwing the most random comments at you, or ask the most annoying questions? You can expect this type of conversation from one or two new people you meet, but it gets a little cringe worthy when you are approached with the same statements over and over again. 

Image Source

So if you are a foreigner to our country, let me help you out:

5 Annoying Things You Shouldn't Say to South Africans

1. So, where exactly is South Africa?

Umm, the name says it all! Think: the Southern part of Africa, no map required here!

2. But you are white, you can't be South African!

So it seems that many MANY people think that Africa only consists of black people. Heard of migration?

3. Can you say something in South African?

Yes, hello...No really though, South Africa has 11 official languages, but "South African" is not included.

4. Do you have a pet zebra?

Definitely! We all live in mud huts and have pet zebras and giraffes and we ride our elephants to school. No.

5. Do you know my mate Peter, he's from South Africa too?

Oh Peter, yeah I know Peter, he lives down the road from me. Sigh. South Africa has a population of over 50 million, chances of me knowing the exact Peter you are referring to are extremely slim.

___________________________________________________________________

I know these comments are made in all innocence (or ignorance), but they really tickle my funny bone, foreigners really have some uninformed expectations of our country. Saying this, I have probably offended you or made your eyes roll on numerous occasions too! I would love to hear some misinterpretations of your country?

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Sort:  

Number 4 reminds me of how people always ask us, Sarawakians, if we live on trees. And this comes from those in other states in my country. It offended us at first but now, we just play along and say things like we swing from tree to tree to visit each other :D

I am a Malaysian living abroad. Some friends did ask me this type of question as a joke. lol
And I would say to them: yes, we live on trees. But we go home by taking a lift to go up there!

Hahaha! yes i told them the same thing too! :D

Ha ha, so ironic, we live in the age of information, yet we are so uninformed! Love that, "swinging from tree to tree".

yes. I also think most people are misinformed about Sarawak. Since the media is always showing trees, sampans on the river and us wearing traditional costumes.

I can relate to all in your article @sweetpea

Proudly South African ;)

This post made me laugh.

The first two questions you ask an Irish person is where are you from, then followed by do you know ...

The funny thing is you usually do. It's amazing how small a world it is. Now having said that there is only 5m people in Ireland but it has become a habit and I am sure if you meet an Irish person that is the way the conversation will go. 😀 Apologies for my countrymen.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Great article. I have lots of S African friends in Bahrain. I will have to share this with them. :)

Haha! Oh gosh, do you seriously get people saying these kinds of things to you?

Although the last one reminds me of a time where I met a friend of my sister in-law. She had recently been travelling in Australia.
I only knew one Australian person so I jokingly asked if she knew her.... and, against all odds, it turned out that they had indeed met each other in Australia and worked with each other for a while. It was completely crazy... I mean what are the chances of that?! :)

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture competition. Good Luck

Pretty funny when I was a kid we moved from Alaska to the "States" as we called it.

People would ask if I lived in an igloo. lol. People are funny.

He he, maybe we like to think that the world is more unique and adventurous than it really is!

Haha, I suppose sometimes you just can't help yourself especially if the conversation starts running dry. So do you know Mike? I saw you're from the same area. He's an old buddy of mine.

Lol, true, people usually do just say silly things to make conversation!

Hehe, indeed :):)

Español? Es bunghole! Habla, blah habla, habla habla, habla bunghole...

Hi. I left a message for you yesterday, under your previous article "Getting To Know The Traditional Zulu Culture." I would like to ask your permission to let us translate your work into Chinese, for sharing with the Chinese Language community. It is a small cross-cultural project called "Culture Vulture for CNers." :)

Oh yes please! That would be awesome, please go ahead. Please let me know once it is up and I will resteem and upvote? Thanks!

Thanks :)

It looks amazing! And is doing very well! Well done, this is such an awesome innitiative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.02
ETH 2696.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87