C62.9

in #teamsouthafrica6 years ago


testicular-cancer-hand-pants.jpg
Image source

For those that don’t know, C62.9 is a medical ICD-10 diagnosis code for “Malignant neoplasm of testis” – or more commonly known as testicular cancer. According to sources, it is the most common cancer in 20 to 35 year old men.

This post is not a sob story of mine. I am not looking for pity or sympathy but rather looking to encourage other men out there to do their part in early detection of this disease. If it is found early and treated, it is not life threatening or even really life changing. 2 years down the line since I was diagnosed and treated, I live a totally normal family life and only my operation scar reminds me of that time.

My Story

As most men do, the 35 year old me was stretching and going through my morning rituals I noticed an unusual lump on my testicle. Instinctively I knew that something was not right and that I needed to get it checked out. But who should I see? I have a female doctor and I was not sure that I wanted her examining me. I realised that my best course of action would be to tell my wife – surely she would know what to do.

The doctors

I landed up in my GP’s office for a consultation and she quickly referred me for an ultrasound on the offending area. The doctor that did the report on the ultrasound outcome then referred me to a urologist. In the space of 4 days of seeing my GP I was sitting in the urologists rooms planning a surgery to remove the suspicious testicle.

To be honest, the whole sequence of events happened so quickly that I did not have time to digest what was going on. Maybe that was for the best? At that stage I still did not know if I had cancer or not, they would only be able to tell me once the had the results from the lab after the surgery.

Hospital

The operation that I had is called a radical inguinal orchiectomy. I won’t go into all the gory details here but you can read a bit more about the operation here if you like. Ultimately it was not such a big deal but it was my first time going under a general anesthetic.

That same evening my urologist informed me that I did indeed have testicular cancer but that it was only stage 1 and we had managed to catch it very early.

Oncology

My first visit to my oncologist after my operation involved a CT scan to make sure that all the cancer was gone and that it had not spread further. Because I had caught it early, I was given the all clear and did not need any chemotherapy or radiation treatment. Nowadays I see him every 2 months and have regular blood tests and CT scans to make sure there is no recurrence.

2 years on from my operation and it has no impact on my life. In fact, having 1 testicle has become a bit of a joke for me. I guess hat is how I deal with things like that...make a joke out of them. I tell my running buddies that I am at an advantage and that I chafe less!

Once again, my story is here just to encourage other guys of all ages out there to either check themselves or go and get yourselves checked out. Wives and girlfriends should be encouraging their partners to do so. The process is really painless and simple and early detection really will save your life as it did mine.

It seems as though since I have been through all of this, I have realised how many people's lives have been impacted by cancer and how myself and my family are the lucky ones.

Some useful info

testicular-cancer.jpg
Image source

Thank you for taking the time to read.

Please upvote, follow, resteem @gholsa

Credit

Sort:  

Good on you to share this, as hopefully it can save someone's life! Men are shy beings when it comes to the toolbox, but we really need to become more open. Blessings and upvoted! @gholsa

Excellent post for men to read @gholsa one of our dogs kept nudging my husband in the area, we took the dog's nose seriously and looked into the matter, five years later still clear of prostrate cancer.

Brachytherapy (the term is derived from the Greek word brachys, which means brief or short) refers to cancer treatment with ionizing radiation delivered via radioactive material placed a short distance from, or within, the tumor. In prostate cancer, brachytherapy involves the ultrasound- and template-guided insertion of radioactive seeds into the gland.

Amazing how animals can have such intuition! Sounds like it saved your husbands life.

Thank you for sharing, I have an appointment with the urologist on 11 September, to get checked out. I think it is important to get regular checkup's.

Hope it all goes well for you. Definitely worth the time to get checked out. Well done!

Haha, less chafing. Yeah, I guess many of us deal with more serious situation in a joking manner to ease the load.

Good on ya for posting this. It's important to have your nuts fondled every once in a while by a stranger... doctor.

Anyhow, I had a bit of a scare a while back myself. Felt a lump next to the dangly bits. Thank goodness it was just a boil. Still did a post about it. Lemme see if I can find the link quickly and I'll update if you wanna have a quick squiz.

Ahhh, here ya go: https://steemit.com/life/@therneau/omg-a-lump-worry-panick-fear

Thanks for sharing your story...all sounds fairly familiar. Glad yours turned out to be nothing serious!

Lol. Nothing like a good doctor fondling.

Oh, sorry, I should have said nut/s. Ok, sorry, I'm done.

Hahah...yeah i say that a lot too.

Catch ya again next time buddy.

Just keep posting... just keep posting... just keep posting.

Oh ja, before I go. You should go check out stellabelle's banana post vibe. She's really cool and you can get an easy, solid upvote from her. Here's the link:
https://steemit.com/partiko/@stellabelle/banana-program-new-steem-project-designed-for-bored-humans#@therneau/re-stellabelle-banana-program-new-steem-project-designed-for-bored-humans-20180812t165438008z
Gna try to get mine done before the deadline is over

You got a 3.92% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @gholsa!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This is an advertised post

The author of this post or one of his supporters has used one or more paid services to promote this post. This post's valuation and number of upvotes does not represent human curation. This means this post's valuation does not represent community appreciation and should be viewed as advertised content.

If you are new to these services please be warned that bid voting is a huge gamble with little return on investment if not utilized right and might also lead to a net loss.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 11.75% upvote!
I was summoned by @gholsa. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Congratulations @gholsa! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76