Happy with my new watch - dissappointed with BestBuy

in #teamnz6 years ago

Happy with my new watch - disappointed with BestBuy

C278273C-9E65-4ABF-8059-815688667BC9.jpeg



As the title suggests I picked up a new Apple watch the series 4 yesterday and this is one of the watch faces I have set up for myself, on it I have the following, the Forecast for the next few hours including temperature and conditions, the UV Index and Air Quality level, both handy for me to know with my Lung and skin damage issues, a link to open the text message page to my wife so I can quickly text her, and the activity tracking numbers which I like to use to keep me motivated to get my steps in each day.
admittedly my activity id showing zero for steps exercise and standing at the moment, but I just got up and out the watch on.

Ohh and I almost forgot it also tells me the time :)
The title hints I am going to vent a little about Bestbuy, but first, let me show you a couple of screens since I am so happy with my watch, then I will get to that.

Now some may say do I really need all this info on my watch, and I guess the honest answer is no, but I am a bit of a techy geek and I love this technology and love having all this info plus more and notifications available at an easy glance on my wrist.

01E7CDD0-D816-4E90-BDB9-5F4C183C2B54.jpeg




Now the first screen may well be the one I will have most often, but I have a few other screens I will switch to from time to time, such as this one which has 8 complications on it.

What is a complication?

A complication is a term Apple is using to refer to links to a space on the watch that provides you with information or a link to an App on the phone.

This second screen gives me the following information, Time in Analog format, Air Quality, temperature, wind speed, again a link to text my wife, heart rate monitor, activity tracker, time to next sunrise or sunset and battery level of the watch.

I am still playing around with my setup for the watch so these faces may change, well not may I know me and they will change.

82FB6D83-27D2-4258-8D1B-F252E6B06277.jpeg



This watch face is a more simple chronograph looking watch face, which simply tells me time and date, battery percentage, and a link to start a timer, as well as a link to open a news app where you can read on your watch the current headlines of the news.
I didn't think I would use the news app on my watch but it has become a habit for me on my old apple watch to check the news headlines on my watch each morning as I am standing on the train platform waiting for the train to come in.

Now on to Bestbuy and the ulog part of this post,and the saga I had with Bestbuy, I have been a long time fan of Best buy and have bought many items from them I am actually an Elite member with them, but after this saga this will be changing, I will buy elsewhere more if not at all times from now on.

When I finally got around to deciding to Order the Apple watch, I went with BestBuy as the website said it would be available for pickup from my Local BestBuy store on the first day they were available, which was Friday, so I went ahead and placed an order and waited till Friday looking forward to playing with my new Gadget.
Well Friday came and the status for my order changed from Pre-order to in Progress so I was a happy camper, but by the evening when Status had not changed I was beginning to wonder, then I saw online on various forums, that many BestBuy stores were selling the Apple Watch 4 to walk in Customers and not keeping them and informing pre-order customers, I even read of a couple of people who went to the local store and were told their pre-order was not available, yet they found and bought the exact same model off the shelf in the store.

I think it is shocking customer service when I company would do this, take orders with a commitment to have available on a date, but instead of keeping to that, they are clearly hungry to make profits and sell them instead to walk in Customers.

I was a bit frustrated to say the least and contacted Bestbuy via phone and various online forums, and got answers that they apologize and could not tell me when it would be available, some saying it should be in a couple of hours, some saying it may take up to a month, so I decided to head to the Mall near us with an apple store to see if they had the watch available, which they did and hence the photos in this post.

Needless to say, I canceled my Bestbuy order last night where I still had been given no info on when it would have been available.

Now I am a firm believer for myself that if I make a commitment to do something I do it, to me its just the right thing to do and a good principle to have, and that perhaps why the shocking practices of BestBuy in this case have really upset me,

Now back to the more fun part my watch faces

1FE46504-2B2F-4319-B6DC-469F5E8616B0.jpeg




This is another chronograph watch face, with time the three rings for activity in the center, steps, exercise, and standing, the weather conditions, cloudy at this stage, the temperature of 57 Degrees, and at the bottom telling me sunrise is at 6:39, or was as I am writing this.

I do have a few other watch faces, but they are animated ones just for fun now and again and not ones I will actively use to much

I do not often take photos with my phone as I pretty much carry my Sony camera with me wherever I go, but for this post, I will use some photos taken with my iPhone this morning.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png


Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Very wonderful.....😱😱

Scott and i are customer service people. Even if we pay a little bit more but the customer service is excellent, will will stay. However, we are finding customer servie is beginning to fall short in many places. It is a shame really; extrmely disappointing.

However! New techy gear!

Ren

Yes sadly customer service seems to be less and less important to so many customers

Still, sorry you were let down, but techy gear.

Well in the end i got it so I am happy, now just to wait till I can get the new phone

Some watch you have there! Fun and meaning full at the same time. :-)

Ohh yeah I love my smart watchs I have had but WOW this one is the best yet

I now go to the apple store whenever I need something and have been pretty happy. I don't like not being able to walk in, go the shelf grab something and go but other than that. My wife uses one of the new fit bits and really likes it but I think those will go the way of the GPS and be swallowed up by the smart watch like the smart phone replaced the GPS. Have fun with your new watch!

Yes I did consider a fitbit at one time, they are cheaper than a lot of smart watched, but I can do most of what the fitbit does on my watch, so it works well for me with all the other things I can do ;)

I would be more than disappointed also! To me that is very poor customer service! Pretty cool looking watch though! ;)

Yeah I should let it go with Bestbuy I guess and enjoy the watch :)

Very cool! That is too bad that Best Buy had to be like that. I guess having worked at Radio Shack, I am always a bit biased against Best Buy though. It was an awesome store when we first got one close to us, but it quickly faded. For me the closest Apple store is 2 hours away, so if I lived in a place that had one, that would be my go to spot. I can imagine the lines were nuts though if it just came out.

the lines werent as bad as I expected actually better than previous years, but then better had a better way of preordering this year where you could select time windows so I think that helped

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34