Lend your eyes to the blind from the comfort of your couch

in #teamgood6 years ago

500436343_960.jpg

Imagine you could help a blind person 100 miles away from the comfort of your couch. Now you can! I just found this app and signed up for this. Being disabled myself and knowing how hard it is to get through the challenges my illness throws my way, but asking for help all the time is something most of us are reluctant to do; and some of us have no one to help at all. This app really will help blind people substantially.

Let me give you an example let’s say a blind guy is cooking him self lunch but now has two cans of which one is tomato paste and the other pineapple, he no longer knows which is which. As he is cooking spaghetti pineapple really isn’t what he is looking for. Without the app he would have two options either open both cans and be forced to eat the pineapple in the next days or go to a neighbour and ask them for help. With the app all he has to do is put in a request for help, the next available sighted person (that would be you ), then picks up. He asks “hello can you tell me which one is the tomato paste” and you say “ its the one in your left hand “, and thats it. You both hang up and you just did something really relevant for someone and made their life a little easier.

As I am multilingual I am on the roster for all the languages I speak so I will be able to help people in several different countries. But even English speakers will be able to help people all over the world in english speaking countries. I really love the idea of this app and hope you guys will join me and sign up to help these people. And if you are busy you do not have to pick up as the call will go to the next available volunteer how better spend ones free time than to make the world a little bit better right ?

Here is the Tedx speech of the maker of the app

teamgoodbanner1 (1).png

DQmZCo76MUSeg8WNYUqr9UMGig3kufJWfENY337KfSbpoJC.gif

(Image credit Dave Renike and a portrait of the fair jubilee made by myself turned into this here universal truth meme) 1146410_626398614061443_1547687283_o.jpg

moi.jpg

nan small.jpg

Artists & Musicians wanted for the One Project
Image source
One small .png

Image Credit
ss.jpg

Image Credit
lgbt.jpg

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

image.png

Image Credit
TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

music.jpg

Sort:  

This is such a good idea! I love how technology is removing the systems that kept people apart, allowing people to just help each other - installed - thank you <3

Brilliant and thank you <3

Hi this is bot belongs to @sapphic

You are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special), or your post passed the threshold of her algorithm.

Either way she will be along shortly to read your post, ponder it and leave a lovely comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

I installed it too!!! Chose three languages I can handle) I'd want more people to know about this app! Going to tell everyone!

Brilliant <3 and thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77