Wholly Snow Storm Canada!!! Look at all this snow in one day!

in #teamcanada6 years ago

We had quite the storm over here in Canada over the last 24hrs. Well not all of Canada we are kinda huge, but in Ontario anyways. I know the Southern part got hit a bit too and made a big deal about it (they always do, but we have it much worse up here in the North!) I'm not sure what they think of us down there, but we secretly don't like them up here...lol.

IMG_5530.JPG
IMG_5528.JPG

This is what my poor car looked like when I got out from work yesterday. The worst was the blowing wind a freezing weather. It was about -20 C in the morning, and the snow just keep blowing down your collar and face when you tried to sweep it off. We probably had about 2-3" or 5-10cm, but the worse part was the blowing, it made it almost impossible to clear.

IMG_5531.JPG

Here's my foot prints to the house this morning when I got home. I went out to clear some snow and do some shovelling and even though it wasn't still falling from the sky the wind made it look like this after only 1 hr. They were already starting to get filled in with the wind.

IMG_5532.JPG

When I went back out to work tonight a took this photo of the same trail. After 10 hrs, it was pretty much totally obliterated with just the wind.

IMG_5533.JPG

The wind is almost much worse then just the snow falling and that's why blizzard situations can be way worse, it's so much harder to control the volume of snow. There's times when it's blowing directly into someones house and the drifts in front of the door are like mountains. My wife took the kids to visit and friend and that's what there place was like, my son was quite excited to tell about the huge snow pile he had to climb over.

This also makes the roads quite treacherous to drive on, this is one of the main streets in Sudbury just in front of the hospital and despite the plows running all day trying to clear the roads it still looked like this.

IMG_5534.JPG

Lastly I wanted to show off a snowbank on one of the parking lots I passed. This is likely something we just take for granted around here that would be pretty impressive to someone without alot of snow. They piles get so massive is most parking lots throughout the winter, then eventually they need to get trucked away. They have heavy equipment and dump trucks come just to haul the snow away from these piles.

IMG_5536.JPG

In a really bad winter there are even piles like this at the end of everyone driveway to get onto the streets.

PS. I'm really excited about winter, it's really my favorite time of the year, so hope your ready for a few more snow and winter blogs over the next few months.

Sort:  

Ha ha, I feel ya. We got quite a bit here as well. I had to get the snowblower out when I got home from work. Also parked in the garage for the first time this year as we are expecting another 10cm tonight.
I love the wind affect in the first image.

Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is an active member of steemparents and teamcanada
Check out my Latest Blog

Oh wow, another 10cm, maybe I shouldn't have made fun of you guys at the start of my post...lol.

Well when they predict another 10 it usually ends up being 3 or 4. As you say, we like to make a big deal out of it :)

Ahh!! This is what we normally look like in Saskatchewan! But instead, we have balmy +6°C, with not a flake to be found. I want my white Christmas!!! Everyone else in SK will hate me but I really want some snow lol

+6, wow that it super warm for this time of year. I'm sure it will come eventually...with a vengeance.

Thank you for taking it away from us 😂😂😂😂

Stay warm tho !

Yeah, we have the fire raging in the house, it's nice and toasty.

Oooh I envy you guys, must smell beautiful too with burning wood and whatnot

A significant reason why I live in Texas. It only snows a couple inches, maybe, a year here. Would be nice to be able to build a snowman every now and then though lol

Yeah, You guys are definitely missing out down there.

ahhh yes, such is life in Canada! :D

Yeah, wouldn't have it any other way!

Not me man, hate winter! We still haven't gotten any snow and I'm elated. You keep it out there 😁

Do you guys usually get much over there or too humid like the west coast?

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

I feel for you @phelimint. God I hate winter. I know you like snow an all, so you can have my portion of it this year Lol!

hehe, we got some snow down here too! I love it, a couple of weeks until Christmas and snow on the ground....what could be more perfect!

I believe you sent that storm my way. In Michigan we're under winter storm warning with 5-8 inches expected by tomorrow... thank you... not really. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89