Bonsai Journal 12Oct2018: Update on Avocado Tree and Bonsai

in #teambonsai6 years ago

avocado-2115922_1280.jpg

As much fun as I have been having sharing from Instagram, Twitter and Youtube to Steemit, something as special as this update needs to be written about. I have been regularly updating you on the status of my Bonsai Tree and Bonsai. Before I proceed with this update, here is a recap with links to the original posts:

  1. June / July 2018: I placed the pips of both the future tree and bonsai in water and await their growth. The roots show signs of growth from the pips.
  2. 6 August 2018: The tree grows its first leaves, and I cut the stem down by half. The bonsai shows first signs of a stem.
  3. 25 September 2018: The tree has regrown the stem and leaves and is planted into its pot, where it will grow leaves and strong roots for the next year and planned for planting in garden in August 2019. The bonsai has its first leaves and stem is cut back by half.

AVOCADO TREE

20181012_084200.jpg

The avocado tree is growing strong with its leaves very rich in colour and strength. It is busy growing its next set of leaves on the tip of the stem. I am really looking forward to planting it out in the garden next year and can't wait to see how much it grows over this coming summer.


AVOCADO BONSAI

20181012_083807.jpg

As you can see the bonsai is more than ready to be planted. Now, for those of you who don't know about bonsais, one of the major differences between growing my tree and bonsai is in the pot. With the tree, I gave it a nice deep pot for maximum root growth down into the soil. For the bonsai, it is better that I plant it in a shallow tray. This spreads the roots horizontally, which makes it easier to remove and clean the roots in 2 - 3 years time, which must be done for bonsais.

20181012_084014.jpg

And as with the tree, I left the pip half covered.


NEW PIPS

20181012_084236.jpg

I love eating avocados. They are one of my greatest loves. Avo slices spread over toast with sweet bell peppers spread over them... mmmm. As such, I am never at a loss for pips.

The above are the latest 4 victims of my desire to nurture life on this planet. They will be included in my future updates. The original tree and bonsai are for myself, but I am planning to sell the above 4 avo bonsais once they are about 2 years old.


Header Image: Pixabay


Please support my work by subscribing for FREE to one of the following:

Silent Hill Obversion Banner

Malum Newsletter banner

Patreon banner


@shadowolfdg is a punkstiny.png SteemPunk and Steemit article Mentor for @schoolofminnows

Member of @teamsouthafrica

Post of the Day Award - @adsactly

Official Promoter for @tpot -- join our discord channel


Kind regards

Shaun M Jooste

Joint-Owner: AIR Entertainment (https://airentertainment.biz)
Director: Celenic Earth Publications (https://celenicearthpublications.wordpress.com)
Author, Screenwriter, Gamewriter, Journalist (https://celenicearth.wordpress.com)

Sort:  

Great post, unfortunately, it takes 3-4 years before an Avocado Tree bares fruit, my project got eaten by a Crane in my backyard in Florida. It was about a foot high and thriving in the ground.

Would be great having an avocado bonsai, look forward to seeing your project grow!

Ideal for being able to find the right spot in the garden, look forward to hearing how large the fruit will be from a bonsai tree @shadowolfdg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94