Whats the deal with the Health rating system on Australian food?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Hi Aussies.

I am new to your fantastic country. I have a question though. Whats the deal with the star rating system on your food products. At first I thought it was awesome that you could take a quick look and know if something was good for you or not.... Seems simple and effective way to help people learn what's good for them.

My wife and I decided on a recent health binge that we would only consume foods that received a 4 star or higher assuming that this would mean everything we ate would be good for us.

Then I looked at the breakfast cereal I was eating which has a 4.5 star review
IMG_20180522_074254.jpg

Yes that's correct the cereal that received a 4.5 star review has 23% sugar.
How is this possible??
Maybe I am missing something but I would expect a VERY low sugar content on something receiving such a high mark.

Love to know your thoughts.... Drop them in the comments

Sort:  

I believe it's currently still only a self regulated system, so expect find some strange results. The super simplification also creates some strange results.

This short of the abc show the checkout breaks it all down.

Thanks. This video was very informative and confusing. hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30