What to do with your votes when you go on a break

Lemas-Headline.jpg

Now I'm sure I'm not the only one in this situation, but I'm burnt out. I've been posting 7 days a week for at least 9 months, and been going nonstop since May last year.

Now I'm not for 1 second saying that I'm going to give up on Steemit, I actually enjoy posting but I think I need to take a bit of a break and reset my equilibrium on all matters related to posting etc.

So the question is, what to do with my Vote Power since I'm not dropping manual votes for a while. There are 2 options really, I can let it sit idle and hope for some capital growth. Alternately I can sell the votes on Minnowbooster and scrape in a bit of passive income.

working_on_the_beach_wavebreakmedia.jpg

I have a massive affinity for passive income, the ability to earn money while you're asleep is something that very much appeals to me. To be swimming in the ocean, having a massage or eating dinner and all the while be making residual amounts of income is the dream.

To give you an idea of the power of continuious passive income. If you wanted to pay off your house in 10 years without actually going to a job, that is 100% possible with the power of passive income.
So if you have a $400,000 loan and a term of 10 years, you'd need to pay off $40K a year. Thats a lump sum payment, not exactly passive.
But if you drove that down to a per second repayment, you can easily get a passive income to meet that criteria. For your interest, it works out as 0.12cents per second or 7.6cents per minute.

passive-income-streams.jpg

I should mention, that kind of passive reward isn't something I would personally be achieving, but some of you could be.

Either way, its something to think about.

gohba.handcrafts02.png

Sort:  

I took a 2 day break on the wekend, and it was quite refreshing not having to think of something to post. Had a good time with the family too, and wasn't too worried about my VP becuase I have a fair amount of my voting set through steemauto. I still do a bit of manual, but couls always bump up my curation trail following % to keep in in check too.

If only I was able to earn that 7.6c per minute passively. I may be on about that per day I think..lol!!

A break is always a great idea 💡

I feel you. When I take a break I choose to sell my votes on smartsteem. I find it easier and more profitable than minnowbooster.

I agree with @bmj, and suggest finding a good voting trail you like if you're going to be on 'a vaca', there are some real good ones in steemauto. Your vote doesn't sit idle, and you help out with curation while adding to your SP to help them even more :)

Why not do both? Delegate some, auto vote some, and boost some?

I’ve used Minnowbooster before and it works well. Right now I’m selling my votes via Smartsteem which is also quite effective. I’ve actually sold a portion of my voting power for ages. But right now I don’t have time to write posts so vote selling makes a lot of sense. It keeps the income coming in which is perfect.

Why not do it all the time then?

Do or do not. There is no try.

I can see you put a lot of time into this post. It payed off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76