The coolest Science teacher in the world!

in #teachers7 years ago

Cool teachers are the ones who's got character. I remember how most of the teachers I had in school, were all really stuck-up and mostly grumpy and irritated. Except for this one teacher...he was a goof but I can't say that I was ever bored in his class. Every single lesson he gave and every single word that came from his mouth just made sense. It was the period we've all been waiting for every week...

Science with Mr. Mitchell.


Cool teacher

He enjoyed life, his job, his own jokes, his chalkboard, but most importantly, he enjoyed US! Every lesson was a quality theatre performance - he would even dress up and play with different voices too. His lessons were never really lessons but rather interactions and conversations that made sense.

He laughed, man, did he laugh. He had one of those contagious laughs that could cause a mexican wave. We also knew very well when the joke was over. I don't know how he did it, but he did.


Source

There was always a positive atmosphere around him, as if it was a happy bubble. The purpose of teaching for him was not to teach but to inspire and create purpose. Whenever somebody was down or drained or could not see a way forward, he would say: "Oh but you can!" and then he'd let us all stand up and start dancing while he sang the very popular Lion King song, Hakuna Matata.


Hakuna Matata

No matter how silly you thought you looked while doing it, no one ever noticed because he looked the silliest.

I get it!

It was his way of changing the subject and bringing positive vibes back.


There was never any trouble either - no bad behaviors was ever present in his classroom and for some crazy reason, everyone always had their Science homework done, no issue!

The other teachers found him entertaining as well. He didn't drink his coffee in the staff room and was mostly seen on the school grounds during recess. Never a dull moment, that's for sure.

What happened to him? I wish I knew as I have lots of questions for him, but I hope that even though he is not here to tell his story himself, you would also be amused by him and that he can be an inspiration to you too.

Are you a cool teacher too?

You can do it!


Source


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

I am trying to be a cool teacher, making it clear to my students that my goal in life is not to screw them but to transmit them some knowledge. In general, the feedback is good so I guess students like how I teach :)

I'm sure you're an excellent teacher. Everyone has their own way of doing things. Whatever personality you have, makes you unique and gives it's own character. Good luck @lemouth. Give those students even more great knowledge! Thank you for taking the time to read about Mr. Mitchell :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ghostgtr from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I wish I had a teacher like that, went to an all girls school and very few of the teachers were married. Believe me they all needed a man, maybe they would have become cool as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16