Tai Koo HK Roast

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


I took my husband out on a date today and he recommended we try Tai Koo HK Roast. This restaurant is known for their delicious Roast Duck. I haven't tasted one so I agreed on going. The restaurant is located at Serendra in BGC.

It was after the lunch rush so there weren't that much customers dining when we got there. It was indeed a lazy Sunday afternoon for the restaurant's crew. It was the first time I'm eating there so I wasn't really suer which to pick on their menu. I chose the Assorted Roast Platter. It has all the roast they offer - beef, pork, chicken and of course, duck.

IMG20190505135418.jpg

I took a bite of the duck right away. It was fine, I guess. Not too bad but not too good. I bit more tough than the chicken meat, you can really tell which is which. The sauce that came with it did the trick. The duck tasted better when dipped in the sauce. For the whole platter, I loved everything except for the pork, which was for some reason a bit colder than all the other meats in there. It tastes good, alright but would have been better if it was still hot when it was served.

IMG20190505135846.jpg

Since we were in a Chinese restaurant, I ordered noodle soup. Now this is the best thing that ever happened today! I ordered the HK Roast duck and Wonton Noodle Soup. I have tried cooking this kind of noodles before and every single time, it turns into a disaster. The soup was really yummy because of the roast duck being soaked in it, letting all the flavors incorporate into the noodle and the soup. The noodle was just perfectly cooked, not too saggy nor undercooked. And I was really impressed with the wonton. I usually would skip this in noodle soups, I'm not a big fan of wontons soaked in hot water but this one tastes divine. Even my daughter - who is a really picky eater - loved the noodle soup.

We may have come at a bad time for their roasts today (although, the customer service spirit in me says they should always be ready to serve at 100% at all times). I guess I will come back to this restaurant again only because I loved their noodle soup and their HK Roast Duck.

I would say, it was not worth the price for the Php698 worth Assorted Roast platter, but it was totally worth the Php268 HK Roast Duck and Wonton Noodle Soup. I'd recommend you go right ahead and order just the Roast duck itself and skip all the other roasts. And never forget to order the noodle soups. They're the best!


Restaurant Information


Tai Koo HK Roast
score
McKinley Pkwy, Taguig, Metro Manila, Philippines


Tai Koo HK Roast
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @romeskie, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

I remember my trip back in Hongkong as I looked into your roasted duck. .

Ahh memories. I hope they are good ones.:) Thanks for dropping by. :)

Oh yes! My first time abroad.. and the food were superb!

Posted using Partiko Android

That roasted duck looks soo good! Thanks for sharing this!

It taste ok as well. I guess I'll visit a different branch so I could enjoy it more.

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.873 which ranks you at #11961 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 50 places in the last three days (old rank 12011).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66297.29
ETH 2682.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87