Do you know about Chinese household registration system?

in #system6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I just registered a Steemit account for my sister. I wish I can help her take in the right direction, since I believe in the bright future of digitalcurrency so much. She should have access to the blockchain technology, connecting with a new world!

Screenshot_20180307-090609.jpg
(Beautiful morning-glory blossoms! Do you love them?)

I immersed myself in Amway world(Globle Network Marketing world) for several years, but I never tried to take any of my family members to attend any Amway meeting in reality. They were completely ignorant about the world where I belonged all along. They only heard of the name of Amway, that's all.

Suddenly I took my American husband to our family, they all felt surprised. It was just the first time for my father to see a foreigner in his lifetime. My American husband was the first and only foreigner to visit our small town till now.

I guess my late American husband was also an incredible person for his American family. How could he move to China suddenly? It seems that he was from a very traditional American family, like I am from a very traditional Chinese family. They stick to their traditional culture and morality as well as lifestyle. They never try to learn or understand the new things.

In fact, at that time I was also puzzled. How could I marry an American citizen suddenly? How could I be such a lucky Chinese woman? I was really too lucky at that time, climbing up to the top of the class ladder from the lowest level at a stroke!

I am such a poor and humble Chinese, I know who I really are clearly. Nobody in China thinks highly of me, on the contrary, they look down on me.

Only my American husband regarded me as a treasure. I followed my American husband to HK, living in a star 5 hotel like a palace. The toilet in the HK Star 5 hotel unexpectedly has an intelligent toilet seat cover, you needn't wipe your bottom by toilet paper, a water stream from a thin tube in the toilet can help washing your bottom, then dry it automatically, too comfortable!

After my American husband passed away, I realized the reason why I could be so lucky suddenly. It seems that the Cinderella's story is true. Internet is my "pumpkin carriage", Amway culture is the beautiful clothes fairy sent me. By means of internet and Amway culture, I met my prince and won his whole love.

So this time I must let my sister take advantage of new technology--blockchain, driving her "pumpkin carriage", I wish she can meet her prince. Given chance, she is absolutely a brilliant queen. I always remember how beautiful and noble she is when she wears a yellow sleeveless dress with a pair of high-heeled shoes.

Screenshot_20180307-221154.jpg

In China, we have the bloody household registration system, similar to notorious Indian caste system. My family is from the bottom of society--Chinese countryside.

Just like there are 4 classes in Indian caste system: The top class is Brahman婆罗门, the second is Kshatriya刹帝利, the third is Vaisya吠舍, the fourth is Shudra首陀罗. The lowest class is Pariah贱民--people of a lower status than common people.

There are 4 levels in Chinese household registration system. What is Chinese household registration system? I guess most of foreigners haven't even heard of it. But I assure that there is the similar system in North Korea. At that time when my late American husband told me that there wasn't household registration system in US, I was very shocked. I even couldn't imagine such kind of freedom of migration.

He was born and grew up in New York, but after he married, having his own family, he took them to move to Florida. It is a long distance between New York and Florida. So now his parents and all his siblings live in New York, his kids and American exwife live in Florida.

However, China has the strict household registration system. From birth we are divided in different levels according to our parents' social status.

The top level is your household registration lies in first-tier city: Beijing--the capital city of China, or Shanghai-the biggest city of China, or Guangzhou and Shenzhen. In China, we call them as 北(Beijing)上(Shanghai)广(Guangzhou)深(Shenzhen).

The second-tier city includes the capital city of each province and some bigger city Dalian, Qingdao, Chongqing, etc.

The third-tier city is the middle city such as Hebi.(I will refer to it in below.)

The fourth city is the small county city.

The lowest level should be similar to Indian Pariah 贱民class--the massive grassroots class-- Chinese countryside people/farmers农村人who are confined to the fields lifetime, living in poverty and spiritual void.

According to the statistics, about 9 hundred million people in China are countryside people. (I doubt how much percentage Indian Pariah 贱民accounts for in Indian total population.) it means there are only 6 hundred million Chinese in 4 levels. The total Chinese population is about 15 hundred million.

I am from such a Chinese family. My parents are both countryside people originally. At the time of my birth, my father finally converted his countryside status to "Urban status", being registered in a third-tier city(also named middle city)--Hebi. My mother still belongs to countryside people/Pariah now, here I just use the term "Pariah" in order to help foreigners understand how low our social status is in China. It seems that recently a famous Indian movie star being called "Indian conscience" exposed a lot of darkness of Indian caste system. Pariah lives a poor and miserable life, seperated with other people, being treated like an abject slave.

So our kids all belong to countryside people. When I was 15 years old, I went to school in Hebi city where my father worked and registered. I was still in "Pariah" status( countryside Chinese), being discriminated by urban people.

When I married my American husband in China, maybe you can't believe in it. I unexpectedly didn't want to be pregnant-- giving birth to baby in China. I worried if our baby had to follow my nationality/status like Chinese household registration system--- if mother is in"Pariah" status, kids just follow mother, instead of father.

I made a fatal mistake, I didn't live with my American husband together in China, I still stayed in my working place, causing he died lonely, which I know his American sons never forgive me. Thanks to bloody Chinese household registration system!

Luckily later my younger brother and younger sister both could be allowed to follow my father to register in Hebi, becoming "Urban people" smoothly, they caught up with a good policy. My sister is 10 years younger than me. (Now I have joined them. My sister told me later I just followed her household registration, since I am a homeless widow.) I didn't get my "Urban status" until I entered a community college in Zhengzhou--the capital city/ second-tier city. At that time the policy was that you could be allowed to convert your countryside status/ "rural status" into "Urban people", once you were admitted to college.

I always remember how excited and happy I was to finally get rid of my humble "rural status"/Pariah. It equals those Chinese finally get their American green card, which means you can have a lot of priviledges and enjoy good social welfares immediately.

After graduation, I had no chance to get job in Zhengzhou, although God knows how I desired to remain in that city. I must find a new place for my household registration.

My father decided to let me depend on one of our relatives who is a powerful government official, having the ability/power to arrange a job for me. so my household registration followed his family--in another third-tier city (like Hebi).

Who knows it became a deadly disaster? It ruined all my happiness and good luck. If at that time my relative didn't make trouble with me, our fate couldn't be so miserable.

I was told that he had kicked me out of his family household registration, everything became very difficult, including our marriage registration in China and my husband's Chinese spouse visa application. I suffered lonely, I even didn't tell my parents at that time about his disgusting conduct. I know in my parents' mind, he is my benefector. How could I speak ill of my benefector? We all respect him all along. Till now my father still believe that it should be his wife's idea to kick me out of their family, instead of him. I have no idea about it. Everything is too late! I hate! Nothing can lead my American husband's life to the resurrection, nothing! nothing!

That ferocious local Chinese household registration policewoman (I doubt she did it on purpose. Only God knows the things behind the scene. If I guess right, she is just my relative's wife's side. His wife is from a powerful official family.) kept on urging and frightening me to move my registration household out of that city immediately. My God, where should I move? My husband was not a Chinese citizen. He had no home in China, I was just his Chinese home.

My parents couldn't help me at that time. My late American husband didn't understand what Chinese household registration system was at all, too. And my American tourist visa application also being denied twice, I fell apart, I fell ill. Where was my home?

"Cinderella's vicious step-mother tried her best to ruin her, she prevented Cinderella coming out to fit on slippery shoe."

Later an Indian webfriend from Kshatriya 刹帝利 class told me that I needn't worry too much. My husband was a white American, white people belong to the top class in US. It would be no problem for me to get American marriage immigration visa(Green card) later.

I was fully relieved. I was so happy, I told my husband that I would visit him soon later. In my mind, I also dare to give birth to baby in China. We could begin the real happy marriage life at last.

Who knows several years later a bolt from the blue came to me? I lost my American husband forever... God took him to heaven suddenly... I lost the chance to be a mother this life forever, too.
Screenshot_20180307-210142.jpg

My dear global readers, if you can understand this blog well, congratulations on yourself!

You have immigrated into Steemit community, converting your social status into a noble Steemit citizen successfully--a Steemiar!

The bright future belongs to you! You'll keep far away poverty later!

I wish my sister's Steemit account can be approved as soon as possible. Thus we can help each other and help more and more people immigrate into great Steemit community, earning money from all over the world!

The power of blockchain technology---God's best arrangement.

(I am in the great MMM community based on blockchain technology, too. If anyone is interested in joining MMM community, please feel free to contact me. I would like to offer help and guide you. My sister has been a MMM member now. We MMM members firmly believe that in the future our MMM accounts will be a great deal of value. Believe it or not!)

P.S. I can't wait to introduce my younger sister to come to Steemit community. She is amazing. She is always my guide, leading me to enjoy life, her new plan is we come to second-tier city-Zhengzhou to buy clothes and then take me to a club where people can swim and enjoy dinner all day long with a very very cheap price in her city. I also can't wait to follow her. If we Steemit members can be sincere friends, the whole world is really becoming a global villiage! Enjoy our life, live a free life that you never imagined before.
If you have enough money, now it is a blessing to live in China. You can take the developed public transportation to different cities, tasting delicious food and playing happily. There are high speed train, no need to bring any cash, it is becoming a cashless society in China, you can buy any goods with Wechat and Alipay, only a mobile is enough.

The only regret and endless pain is my American husband left the world forever, he left too early, too early! Thanks to him for taking me to HK and tasting the extreme happiness as well as great honor this life.

Our beautiful memory is always in my mind! I keep your memory alive!

Sort:  

Hello @ginafraser
I did not expect that China has still that kind of social classification system. I learned a lot from your story about your country and how people living in accordance with its social classes. I hope that system will be removed so that people will live and enjoy life with equal rights and privileges.
I am sorry for what happened your American husband too. I know you will be forever grateful to him for the good life he gave to you.
My friend just started Steemit and she said it took her 7 days before she was able to receive the approval. You just need a little patience now for your sister's Steemit account and I welcome her in advance :)
Have a good one! Cheers! :)

Thank you so much. I am glad to know you learn a lot from my story about China.
I remember you once said you wanted to have a visit to China. You once have a Chinese friend when you work in Singapore. I guess he must tell you how wonderful China is.
It is true that Chinese big city is beautiful and wealthy. When my American husband arrived in Beijing at first, he exclaimed that it was more beautiful than New York.
There's a great gap between Chinese poor people and wealthy people both in material and spirit. It is difficult to remove Chinese social classification system. Chinese people should get chance to see the world.
I wish someday you can visit China! In Beijing, there's the Fobbiden city, the great wall and the Summer Palace, etc. Luckily enough, at that time my American husband and I had a visit to these beautiful tourist attractions in time. Very very good memory!
Thank you for welcoming my sister to Steemit in advance.

I am touched @ginafraser that you still remember what we've talked about. Yes, I truly wanted to visit China. I was just a little surprised while I was reading your blog talking about this social classes which I did not hear nor story told me by my Chinese friends. Maybe we just did not have the chance to talk about society in general in China :)
Thank you for the wish and I can't wait for that time to see those beautiful places you mentioned.
For the meantime, I will just invest time and effort first here on Steemit hoping that someday I will earn enough from here to see the world.
Take care! :)

The price in Chinese mainland is not expensive compared to HK. You can travel China via a good international travelling company named Worldventures. It is said that WV's service is wonderful.
I understand your Chinese friends never try to talk about Chinese society with foreigners. As usual, they love to say how wonderful China is!
In any country, there's the poor and the rich, the humble and the noble. Only by learning its culture and system, we can know how people from different countries think.

Thanks for that recommendation of WV. I had been in HK once and I thought the cost of living there and to the rest of China is just the same. Thanks for letting me know that :)
Yes, I understand that perhaps my Chinese friends do not want me to have some sort of a negative impression of your country and I agree with you. Unless I witness and learn your culture and how your social systems work there.

Absolutely true. For me, HK food is so expensive! When I followed my late American husband in HK, I found the food in HK was rather expensive. Most of Chinese are poor, it is true. No need to hide the truth.

This is very sad that to know that people in your country are divided and don't enjoy the same rights. My country belongs to a democratic government which has a law that everyone (rich or poor) should have equal rights. It's only sad that some people in my country are also abusing this freedom. Discrimination happens anywhere in the world, this is a very sad reality.

Anyway, that's great to hear that your sister has also joined Steemit. I hope her account gets approved very soon. I'll be following her blogs too! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77