Swing Trading with Robinhood ( I'm new to trading) - Come join me on my Journey in possible gains and losses

in #swingtrading7 years ago

Posting a shot of my current investment with the Robinhood app.

robinhood 1 7162017.png

I’m sharing this with you because I would like to grow this to $10,000 in 3-5 months time. Some might say that’s a pretty lofty aspiration, but I believe it’s doable in this volatile market right now.

Also, I’m sharing this because I’m looking for other individuals that are currently or wanting to use Robinhood as a swing trading app… I’m by no means an expert, I opened this account about two weeks ago. Completely new to Swing trading. I’m learning as I go. I watch Youtube video’s, join different sites to learn about stock trading.

I’ve made an $11 gain from my primary investment of $500. I plan to sell my shares next week with an additional gain. I started with an amount that will not affect my current finances. I have been setting aside $20's for over a year to open the Robinhood account, but you don't need $500 to start you can start with less like $100 or even $50. However, the more collateral you have available to invest with, (without hurting your finances) the better. It allows you to buy more shares. I've noticed you don't make much buying 20 shares of a stock it's better if you can buy 100 to 1000 shares in stocks to see a 2%-4% increase in value from what you bought in at.

ie:

  • 20 shares in HK at purchase price $6.50 per share (total spent $130) with a current price $6.77 ( and you sale) is a gain of 4% but you only get $5
  • but let's say you had 100 shares at $6.50 per share (total spent $650), 4% gain, sale at $6.77 = $27
  • now a 1000 shares at $6.50 per share (total spent $6,500), 4% gain, sale at $677= $270

Nice! if you have a lot of extra doe to invest in, but the win could just as easily be a lost in money if not observing the market and sticking to a pattern. I've been fortune as a new swing trader, and would say for the month of July and August 2017 it's a good time to get in and learn. The market lately is so volatile, stock share prices seem to rebound a lot quicker then in slower bearish market.

ie:
I bought 10 AMD stock shares at $13.50 because it hit the market-watch and yahoo finance news. It cost me $135.00 it dropped the same day I bought in, down to $13.45 per share, so I was losing. However, after the market closed the price went back up and now it's priced at $13.92 per share. I read through a few articles and realized that the stock might be hitting an overprice sale, but the quality of the product and all the news it's drumming up, good and bad but mostly good. I chose it to be a wise investment to buy the share, because based on the momentum of the market, media, and assessing the share price fluctuation for the pass month, it would go back up.

I do have a stop loss amount to sale at, and a percentage gain I would like to see before I sale. I've noticed thus far my style of buying and selling is based on momentum ( meaning based on media announcements and the movement of the share price going up or down) but I'm planning to learn technical trade analysis to better asses my risk.

Well, that might have bored a few readers... But if you are continuing to read, I do plan to make this apart of my daily/weekly routine to focus, learn, and make mistakes; but at the same time grow and practice to get better at trading and understanding the market. I've noticed I'm better at just jumping in while I learn, reading and watching videos are great but I learn best from trial an error.

SOOOOOO...If you have questions or are interested in starting a trade group or can recommend a live chat room, where I can join to grow and learn from I would appreciate it. In addition, if any one wants to follow my swing trade investments I will be posting weekly, since I'm not a day trader but a swing trader at this time. I will keep readers updated. I’m looking for people who can mentor and share their ideas with me, and I can share mines as well. Especially if you are a fellow female, I noticed or think that Trading in generally seems to be a male dominant industry. Women can get into Trading stocks and making this a passive income as well. I'm open to discuss other best practices, stock thoughts, and general questions about my Robinhood account if anyone is interested!

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

good luck with your trading - it is a form of informed gambling and am now following you in support

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82