🎵 “Ho'Oponopono” Medicine Song for Steemit Vision Quest

in #svq6 years ago (edited)

Aloha! I'm in a Hawaiian state of mind, feeling inspired to share a traditional medicine song, with 11 verses in alignment with this week's Vision Quest theme. "Eleven-Eleven" brings to my mind the recognition that I am aligning with the divine. Whenever I see the 11:11 on the clock, I remember I am here with a Mission, a Purpose, and a Destiny; and God is with me.

Meet my 3-year-old son, Gabriel Ohana Lindsay. Angel Gabriel is the inspiration for his first name, and his middle name means "family" in the Hawaiian culture. I like the way "aloha" appears when we say his full name too, i.e. "Gabri-aloha-na." His thoughts are with me as I write.


The Story

"We Are One" is a song performed by Ziggy Marley and the Melody Makers, just in case you'd like a soundtrack while you read.

I used to make wishes anytime I saw 11:11 on the clock, as if I'd seen a shooting star, or found a four-leaf clover. And then I started seeing 11:11 so frequently that I began to see it as something more than a stroke of good luck. Now, I see it as a sign of the Divine.

To me, the number one is the ultimate expression of Spirit, because we are all one and the same in Spirit. This concept is supported in many spiritual beliefs, and it is symbolized nicely in the Medicine Wheel. In my understanding, the Medicine Wheel is made up of many dots, and these dots represent the many individuals united. The Medicine Wheel represents Oneness.

To me, the Medicine Wheel is visualized most simply like this: a circle pattern of 21 dots. Some people equate it with the Sacred Hoop, or the Four Directions symbol, but I interpret each symbol differently.

One dot is me, one is you, one is a golden eagle, one is a sacred fire, one is a dreamcatcher, one is this Vision Quest, one is the Steemit community, one is your entire ancestry, one is the tree people, one is the buffalo ghost... And we are all one. We are one in the Medicine Wheel.

In my understanding, Oneness also looks like this: I am a body of energy in an open area of space, where I am emitting warmth and light. I think of this place as an arena of lights, and my rays of light extend and blend into other light bodies. These light bodies represent the souls, radiating. I believe this is a visualization of the Spirit realm.

When I think about the number 11, it seems like the blending of two lights into a shared space. Eleven-eleven is like the joining of four lights, and we can use our imaginations to know who or what these lights represent. Maybe it's the Red, Yellow, Black, and White. Maybe it's the North, South, East, and West. Maybe it's the Father, Mother, Child, and Self.

I also like the metaphor that each one of us is a drop of water in an ocean. We are one altogether in one current, with the courage to go into the unknown, and with synergy as we go there together. When the sun reaches down into the water, once again when we rise we are one, moving like the waves in motion, peaceful like the waterfall’s hush. We are one drop of rain inside a raincloud. We are one altogether in one mist.


The Vision

Today, exploring the "Eleven-Eleven" theme for Steemit Vision Quest - Week 11, I offer a fresh rendition of a classic medicine song called "Ho'Oponopono" (ho-o-pono-pono). This is a Hawaiian expression of gratitude, forgiveness, and love. In my family, it's been transformative! I imagine there are many ways to sing this song. Traditionally, we sing the rounds 10 times each, and today's variation is sung 11 times each.

I'm so sorry. Please forgive me. Thank you. I love you.


The Process

In this week's Vision Quest, I considered many ways to creatively express the number 1111, and the idea of an 11-verse Ho'Oponopono song resonated with me. It felt brilliant and beautiful to imagine it. I often exercise in sets of 10, and I occasionally add an 11th repetition. The 11th one feels extra rewarding. And I felt this way when I sang the song.

My creative process for this song is a matter of entering the Flow, and documenting. I closed by eyes, played a hypnotic riff on the guitar, and breathed my way into the vibration. For the recording, I setup a camera (Canon 5D Mark III) and audio recording device (Zoom 4), to handle the documentation.


The Quest

Steemit Vision Quest - Week 11: Eleven-Eleven

This is my entry to Steemit Vision Quest - Week 11: Eleven-Eleven. Thanks to the SVQ team, who is a steady force of encouragement for all of us willing to bring our collective Visions together for the higher good of all: @eaglespirit, @rensoul17, and @girlbeforemirror. Thanks to all the Vision Questers, and thanks to all of the supporters. Thanks to the creators of Steemit, and thanks to those who continue to make this platform great. I appreciate you all.


Sort:  

That was an awesome read, I love your drop in the ocean metaphor. We are still a drop, an individual, yet part of something eternal.
Fun synchronicity, I first heard the phrase "Ho Opono Ono" years ago on a political forum. I ran into him again here on steemit!

Thank you! Yes, absolutely. Thanks for seeing the drop, the individual, and the something eternal with me. How cool you've had some synchronistic moments with Ho'Oponopono. It's magical, really.

It was one of those... I call them "Duh-hah!" moments. I bet I don't need to explain that, do I?

I know just what you mean. I express that very same "Duh-dah!" as a simple little celebratory whistle. :)

This post makes my heart sing, my love. Your ability to capture the beauty in the every day moments of our life together is something I am deeply grateful for.

How nice of you to notice, thanks for checking it out. I love you, you know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80