Happy Sukkot To My Brothers & Sisters!

in #sukkot6 years ago

B42FFE97-9831-495F-B138-7DE37AE57B85.png
Source
This is exactly how I feel!

Today, many of my brothers and sisters are celebrating Sukkot, the Feast of Tabernacles. Leviticus 23:33-44
For our family (minus my husband...sad face), we will be celebrating next month.

The calendar we follow starts at the first new moon after the first day of spring. It was the one that made most sense to me, so I went with it. This year, we are a month behind most of the others. I’ll admit, it feels rather lonely knowing we’re celebrating at a different time than most everyone else. But we are to obey, even if we are alone.

I know for the Feast of Tabernacles, the intention is for us to camp outdoors in tents. I really want to obey my Father, I do, but......camping outside with 3 little one at that end of October in northern MN? Ummmm......yea. In fact, I was going to celebrate the fall feasts this month and say I celebrated the second Passover. I figured September has got to be better than October. But as September approached, I just wasn’t quite ready. So October it is!

Granted, we have varied winters here. I remember walking outside in 40-some degree weather with little to no snow in late December. Some winters, the snow starts piling in early October. So I’ll be praying for an unusually warm late October. With God, all things are possible. Matthew 19:26

Anyways, hoping you all have a wonderful Sukkot!!


I looked ahead to next year, and I believe my calendar lines up with a lot of other’s calendar as well. Woo hoo!


I’m Hebrew Housewife. Remember, be diligent.

Sort:  

Oh I hope it doesn’t look like that!

Me either! Did you guys make it down all right?

May I ask for more info on the differing calendars?

Thank you. It would not allow me to post a response but I did have a look and now I know a lot more! Are you following the sun over equator?

lol Just change all that snow to rain and I'll fit right in. Here it rains every single Feast of Tabernacles. Last year it wasn't bad at all. This is a great meme. Now I'll have to go check that web site.

I'm super curious. You're careful in everything. Why does this calendar make the most sense considering that "the first day of spring" is not mentioned in the Bible?

In the past we've always put a tent up. But this year, I'm just not healthy enough. Also, the temps haven't dropped off to kill the bugs that I'm allergic too -- which is exceptional. I'm feeling really bummed. We're going to spend most of our time on the front porch or working in the yard ... well, that's @mitchmiester's plan. For me it will depend on the bugs.

Bummer! I enjoy the rain.. when I’m inside. Outside camping, not as much.

Regarding the calendar I follow, you can find more info here: http://torahfamily.org/calendar-confusion/

It’s still warm where you are at? It’s gotten quite chilly here already. I’ll pray that you may be able to spend as much time outdoors as possible! Even if you can’t, try to enjoy this time as much as you can :)

howdy there hebrewhousewife! what is that picture of? I don't quite understand that. How many years have you been trying to celebrate the feasts in the proper way? I salute you for honoring God this way!

I believe the term is succoth. Basically a tent. For the feast of tabernacles (sukkot)
The first picture is someone keeping the feast in Israel. Look how nice and warm it is! The second is someone keeping the feast in a horrible location that shouldn’t be inhabited such as here. We are the remnant that got scattered throughout the nations. We are the house of Israel, Joseph, Ephraim. Zechariah 10 for example.

We just started last year. I discovered that all of God’s laws are still for us today, right before the fall feasts last year. I didn’t know what I was doing then, so we just set up a kid’s tent in the house. Lol

hahaha! excellent start with the kids tent, it's the honoring and teaching that's important so great job!

First off I did have a good Sukkot, thanks for the well wishes!

When I started doing the feasts many years ago I had to decide which calendar made the most sense to me. I started following one but as time went on and then I met a local group to meet with I started following a different one and in fact it is the current Jewish calendar.

Here is a couple of the reasons I decided to go that route. First off we are told in scripture that the gentiles will drive Israel to jealousy. We as gentiles, so to speak, can't do that if from their perspective we have just made up our own calendar to follow. It made more sense to me to think that if I was a Jew and my family have been keeping the feasts for generations and now all of a sudden a "gentile" is now keeping them on the same day that would sure get my attention and I would want to know why.

The other reason comes from Genesis 49 where Jacob gives his last words to his sons. Verse 10 says..."The scepter shall not depart from Judah, Nor a lawgiver from between his feet, Until Shiloh comes; And to Him shall be the obedience of the people." Ok so what does this say? To me it seems clear that Judah will be the lawgiver until the Messiah comes. Around 359 to make sure Jews all across the world would celebrate the feast days at the same time Hillel II established a calendar that is still in use today. Now is it 100% accurate..probably not but according to this verse until the Messiah comes back Judah is the lawgiver. Seeing as there is no Jerusalem council anymore I am going to follow the calendar that they approved. What authority as I as a gentile, so to speak, to decide on my own calendar.

Ok with all of that being said we all still have to make our own decisions...I thought maybe sharing what I learned might help you. And please note that I am not saying that I am right and you are wrong, just what I am doing and why!

Shalom!

Glad to hear you had a good Sukkot! And thank you for sharing! Those are some really good points made there! Do you have a link that tells how the Jews determine the calendar. I’m curious how it works.
I’ll admit, while everyone was celebrating these feasts on those days, there was a funny feeling in me I couldn’t shake. Like I should be observing these feasts right now.
All I can say is that I’m still learning!

Keep learning and praying to the Father for Him to show you what He wants you to do.

Also here is a link that might help you soom.
http://www.jewfaq.org/calendr2.htm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13