Some other plants I bought at the JSS Spring Show and a minor disaster

in #succulents6 years ago (edited)

Because I decided to destroy my budget, I bought way more plants than would be feasible to put in my backpack so I got a box that I would be able to strap onto my pillion seat. That fitted most of the plants and the rest I put in my bag. I had a bit of bubble-wrap that I used to fill the excess space in the box and I drove home slowly and carefully. When I got home and opened the box, I was dismayed to see the vibration from the bike had shaken many of the plants out of their pots because they were planted in pretty coarse soil. I should have put a lot of bubble-wrap under the plants as well to cushion the pots. I'm not too worried about the Haworthia, they will be fine, but I also bought one mesemb and I know that they don't do well with stress. This one had not come out of the pot but I'm worried that it got injured by the gravel topdressing moving around. Oh well, I'll have to wait and see.

cheiridopsis peculiaris.jpg
This is the plant in question, Cheiridopsis peculiaris: like it's name, it is peculiar-looking plant that develops a large set of circular leaves around the base of the leaves you see there, making it resemble a little hat.

mesemb.jpg
An attractive little creeper mesemb whose name I have forgotten. Edit: it is Braunsia maximiliani

unrooted offset.jpg
A mystery haworthia: the seller had forgotten what it is and because it is still forming roots and rather dehydrated, it's difficult to recognise. I suspect that it is a particularly attractive and sought-after type of Haworthia turgida. It looks like nothing at the moment but if it is what I think it is, it was a great buy because I got it really cheaply.

haworthiopsis nigra.jpg
A Haworthiopsis nigra. These are interesting little black plants that grow in columns and have little tubercles on their leaves

tulista pumila.jpg

Tulista pumila are closely related to Haworthiopsis but are large, like miniature aloes and while most of them are spotty, some have round "donut" tubercles on their leaves, as this one is showing.

Sort:  

Super!
Congratulations on your purchase!
I wish that all plants grow healthy !!!
And so that your “brain concussion” made by him they survive calmly!

Thanks. You'll be sure to see more pictures of these. So far there doesn't seem to be any problem with the "concussed" one so I am feeling optimistic

Super!
I have good news, I bought 2 new plants: Haworthia and Gasteria :-))

I look forward to seeing them

These plants have such a bizarre form. It is always interesting to consider them. Sometimes they even look like animals.

That's why I like them so much

On first sight i thought it was octopus...Then i realised the true fact.Awesome creature of god.

Oh Iike the second that the name you have forgotten :)

I looked it up, it is Braunsia maximiliani

So adorable!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30