Sublime Sunday - Lunch on the Lake at Copper Dock Winery

20190915_132342.jpg

Copper Dock is a local winery located about 30 minutes from my home. This was our second trip here and this time we went for a nice relaxing lunch on the open-air dock by their lake. My husband had their Philly cheesesteak pizza and I had garlic parmesan wings with a side salad. Everything was excellent!

As we sat on the deck enjoying the afternoon, swans came up to the dock to investigate. There are coin-operated vending machines that dispense feed that you can give to the birds and the fish. No human food allowed! There are warnings on the table to not feed the swans people food because it is harmful to them.

This fellow didn't quite take the food from the hand, but as soon as it was sprinkled in the water the swan went for it. I wasn't the one holding the feed, and I'm not sure I'd want to swan to try to take it from my hand, that beak looks pretty wicked.

The swans weren't the only ones interested in the free snack. There were several nice size fish lurking about the edge of the dock to pick up anything that the swan let sink below the surface.

At the main lodge, you can go inside for wine tasting. They have some very nice local wine and a Reisling that I liked very much. But it was too nice a day to stay inside the lodge. There were grounds to explore and things to see - no sitting around inside! And they have live music every weekend. Today there was a solo act playing some excellent background music.

We had a peach sangria to sip on while we listened to the music and enjoyed the very pleasant afternoon. You can buy wine by the bottle as well and bring it out to your table in an ice bucket to sip at your leisure. When it's time to go, they will wrap your wine in a sealed container that makes it legal to carry home in your car.

As we were leaving we had to check out the parking lot designated for motorcycles. I envy them their ride this afternoon, it was a perfect day to be in the wind.

This was indeed a Sublime Sunday.

All photos were taken by me with my Samsung Galaxy Note 5.

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Don't abandon STEEM - add Narrative and cross post your Steem content for more exposure. Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

FLASH_FICTION_LOGO.gif

blueeyes8960.gif

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

2id58ntr4e.png

Sort:  

Looks like a really nice place to have a nice cold drink! Pity it was served in a plastic cup though, it could have looked much nicer in a glass bowl!

Exactly! The wine drinkers had glass wine glasses - I guess sangria was beneath their dignity and got a plastic cup! Or maybe we just like we'd be sloppy? Or maybe like we'd steal the glasses?? lol.
We were at another winery with a nice outdoor lake and seating area and you had to put down a $2 deposit on each wine glass, which they returned when you brought the glass back. How's that for class? Kinda ticked me off.

They do something similar for the German Christmas markets... although, in that case... I prefer to keep the cool mugs that they hand out!

Sounds and looks like such a nice outing, I wouldn't try feeding swans from my hand I have seen them get downright ornery

Like I said, it wasn't my hand in the picture, lol. I don't mind holding out a flat hand to the soft lips of a horse nuzzling for grain, but a hard sharp beak - NOT, lol. Good thing the swan was a gentleman and just let her drop the feed in the water.

Luckily the swan was civil but I am guessing people feed them so much there they have learnt to wait fir the food

Congratulations @blueeyes8960! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I'm glad you had a relaxing Sunday afternoon. I wouldn't have been brave enough to try and feed a swan by hand, either.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think it was bravery, I think it was common sense, lol.

The swan looks quite big, I wouldn't dare to hand feed them...

There was a pair of them that size, they really made all the ducks looks like midgets, lol.

I love restaurants that offer seating outside overlooking water.
So much to see and enjoy while you eat and talk to others you're with.

Me too! Especially nice in the waning days of summer when you know winter is just around the corner and no more sitting outside for months. Plus it was a very laid back ambiance, no one expected you to finish your food and leave, you just pulled your chair around to face the guy playing music and could stay as long as you like.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for the upvote!

Looks like beautiful day...

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thanks Helpie! and @priyanarc for curating!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85