What Do You Think About 6-Year-Olds Having A Job?

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

98bc4689-d57a-43ad-a5e1-14ae1cd76c49.jpeg


While this 6-year-old girl was filling my tank with gas, I told her "kamu syantik" which was supposed to mean "you're pretty," but I think it actually means "you pretty" in broken Indonesian.

Either way, it put a slight pursed-lip smile on her face.

In Bali, everywhere except for the capital or a really big city, this is what I've seen for "gas stations:"


(I love how gangster she looks in this hat.)

The gas station where this little girl was funneling gas into my bike was what I'd consider "fancy."

I mean just look at it:

It costs me about 20,000 to go from empty to full ($1.36) and a tank lasts me 1-2 weeks depending on what I'm doing.

It kind of makes me never want to have to drive a car again.

Anyway, now for the big question:

What do you think about 6-7-8-9-year olds working?

This is actually a big debated question, and maybe you have no opinion on it because maybe you've never seen kids working before.

I've seen it a lot. My neighbor boys in Guatemala worked a lot.

In Nicaragua, little kids tried to sell me snacks when I was on the bus.

In Colombia, kids tried to sell me gum at 11 pm.

I read a news article once that said in Colombia, if the kids don't sell a certain amount, their parents will beat them. I don't know if it's true or just the news being news and stirring up stuff.

But I will say I've heard arguments on both sides of the coin.

I know some of these kids go to school AND work...

.... and are proud to help out their families, and it's a cultural value for families to help each other. I know a lady who sold fish in Costa Rica before school as a kid and she said it gave her good work ethic.

I know other times, these kids don't go to school and they only work because their families are so desperate for money that they feel there is no other choice.

I'm just curious what you guys think about it! It's an interesting topic!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I'm sure you will get many different perspectives based on the culture the person grew up in. I personally wouldn't have my child working at that age, but I also know for some families in other countries it's a necessity as everyone needs to pitch in to put food on the table.

It would be nice to see countries where this is common put some limitations in place to protect the children.

That's what I was hoping for! Lots of perspectives! Yeah. I was thinking that even people like my grandma worked growing up. When she wasn't at school, she worked on the farm she grew up on to help put food on the table. She's super healthy now even at 81. I wonder if it's because she grew up on a farm lol

Hmmm, why are they filling the gas tanks with bottles?

Also, I googled it and it seems that your phrase is not broken Indonesian (link).

About kids working. On one side, I think it's good for kids to have tasks to build world knowledge and common sense, but straight out having a job seems like it takes the charm that childhood could be. There are many essential skills that are not being trained while working in such limited places. Then again, many parents don't have enough education to know what's best for their children in terms of learning. I suppose it's better than doing nothing.¯\_(ツ)_/¯

If I had a child, I'd certainly have them help me in my job if I had something physical for them to do, but it would not be the main thing for them. If feelings matter, I'd rather have them be happy children running around.

That's always how they do it...with bottles. Empty vodka bottles or any kind of glass bottle! I like the bottle thing for some reason lol.

I can kind of see both sides to it, too, like you. Maybe some work to learn responsibility but not your main thing. But if you have zero access to education then it's better than nothing. But if you have access to education then that should probably be a priority, but it is a problem if the parents themselves aren't educated enough. Hehe I like this --> ¯_(ツ)_/¯

I detest it strongly...
Those little hands should be carrying books or toys...not to be burdened with heavy responsibilities..
And yeah, I have seen child labor in my country. I makes my blood boil. It's all the same in third world countries.

As a parent when you make a baby, you are supposed to have resources to take care of your baby...If you don't have enough resources, why make so many babies(I have seen these families having too many babies(more than 3))

I always like to hear from people like you where it's prevalent in your own country. I've always asked that question too, "why do you make so many if you can't afford them."

In Ecuador, that was the case. A lady begged me to take her baby back to the US but I was only 19 and in college and I couldn't do that. But a lot of people I met there were living like 9 people to a one bedroom hut with dirt floors (surprisingly they seemed happy and they were some of the most generous people I've ever met).

I remember wondering why they had so many babies and the answer was just lack of education and probably access to birth control.

And some for religious purposes. But I don't know!

It is common in Indonesia for children to help their families. The girl in "warung" I used to go is also doing the same. I did the same as well when I was a child. However, I think that it's acceptable as long as they are still going to school and it doesn't hinder their school activity. But seriously, education is almost free in Indonesia up to 12 years and a humble family could appeal for help to the government.

I know that it's not common in Europe where the parents let their children to be working but I'd say it's good to help them understand entrepreneurship.

Oooh I'm so excited you answered this here!! I was really hoping you would since you're from here so in a way, I wanted your opinion even the ost!

I think it's good for entrepreneurship purposes for sure (people like you and some other friends I have, for example). But yes I wouldn't want it to be instead of school. Oh man I saw a kid in the US who's like 9 years old and he started a business. I was so jealous haha I wish I had worked younger

Hello @nomadicsoul. A child should be a child and do kiddie things, lots of playing, fun and education ect ect... Well that's how it works in my world anyway. Sadly South America is not the only place using child labour, with so much poverty around the world, child labour is quite common and used as a means of survival.

Yeah I feel like it's probably done in more places than not

All over the world children of poor families have worked, apparently for all time. A given country outlaws the practice only once it reaches a certain level of development where the government can provide for the children's education and food needs. In the US child labor laws had to be passed. But here we also have food stamps, WIC, and other social service nets to help poor families. I think it is natural for nations to do this once they can. The inequality of the value of national currencies around the world is what causes some countries to be able to give children childhoods where their only responsibility is learning and growing, while in some countries children must "earn their keep."

True, for all of time! Even both of my grandmas grew up working here in the US (although she still went to school). One worked on a farm and the other worked because great gma couldn't afford to keep her and she had to spend part of her childhood growing up in an orphanage so she helped work also.

You saying "for all time" made me think about that.

Some has to be done to change the really of this family force to put children at work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-15T15:38:51
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 402.31/800.00
Total Photos: 49
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07