Teach A Man How To Fish Or Give A Fish?

in #streetphotography6 years ago (edited)

This is Miguelito, my 5 year old neighbor from when I lived in Guatemala last year:

I'm entering him in the street photography contest by @juliank even though I'm not sure if it counts... since I know him.

But technically this photo was taken on the street, and it's a candid shot, so can I please get a pass this time? I think maybe I just want an excuse to talk about these awesome little kids haha.

Miguelito and his brothers didn't go to school. All of them had to work to help support their family, even Miguelito, even though he was only 5 years old and short for his age. He's like his dad, who is only about 4 feet tall. Not sure if Miguelito will ever grow full height.

So, let's just say most of Miguelito's work consisted of offering to help me carry a jug of water that's bigger than he is, and me pretending that he's strong enough to carry it 😝.

I always tipped him anyway...because he always walked with me from the store to my house, even though I had to do all the carrying, haha.

He always helped me open the door to my house, though, every time I'd try to carry this ridiculously huge monstrosity of water jug home.

This may sound crazy, but I truly love and adore Miguelito and his brothers. Traveling is wonderful, but the flip side is sometimes it also brings pain.

The pain of leaving people that you never thought it was possible to love so much. This was definitely one of the hardest separations for me. If something happened to their parents, I'd without a doubt want to adopt these boys.

Every week, I took them for a new experience. They had pizza with me, which they never get to eat. I took them to McDonald's for the first time!! I don't think I've ever been happier than I was when I was watching them smile at me from on top of the slide!

This picture was from a day we had a picnic in the park and I got him some bubbles. I mean, could you resist that happy smiling face?

So tonight, while in Malaysia, I'm thinking about some precious little boys on the other side of the world. I have wanted to go back to Guatemala just to see them again. But, I want to go with a plan this time. The problem is, I don't have a plan.

When I lived there before, I just did things for them, like take them out...play with them...give their parent's a break from watching them, read to them, whatever.

But all of those things just helped them temporarily. I didn't get them into school (it was more complicated than just throwing some money at the situation). I didn't give the internet and a computer and teach them how to make money online.

I didn't help their parents start a business that wasn't failing because I was too busy growing my own.

I want to teach them how to fish, so they can eat for life, instead of giving them fish so they can just eat for a day.

Don't get me wrong. Giving them fish was great, and they were happy for it. I think giving fish is better than not giving fish at all.

But I just want to make a bigger impact. A lasting impact. I don't want to go back without a plan. But I also miss them so much that it hurts sometimes.

If anyone is better than me at this teaching how to fish thing and comes up with a genius plan, let me know!! Or if you wanna help me come up with some idea about how steem can save the world...maybe that would help.

If not, oh well. Here are more pics of them just for kicks and giggles (speaking of kicks and giggles...sorry I forgot to try to inject my lame sense of humor into this post like I usually do).

The day we had pizza:

Selvin and Miguelito sleeping on my couch. They liked to do that sometimes because they didn't have a bed:

Selvin and Miguelito:

Miguelito teaching me Kaqchikel, his native Mayan language (his parents are both indigenous):

Some Kaqchikel words:

I remember kexu means cheese.

One day, the 3 boys were playing soccer on the street.

Guess what they were using as goal post?!?

That's right. You guessed it! Dead birds!!! (ok, you probably didn't guess that, haha)

So, my parents thought maybe they should send the boys some cones to use as goal posts. I think they don't know what to do with them... hehe...

Miguelito tired after a hard day's work of helping his parent's run their little corner store:

Just kidding, he's just being silly.

What can I say, I just really love these 3 boys: Selvin, Miguelito y Angel.

Sort:  

Maybe you can give them an inexpensive smartphone and teach them to vlog and use steemit/ dtube to earn $$. Or you can convince the Olympics to create a new sport involving a 1 vs 1 vs 1 soccer game using dead birds as goal posts. I'm sure Miguelito and his brothers would dominate and become world champions!

Interesting idea. But THEN I'd have to get them internet...which I guess is also doable. Hahaha let's make a campaign for the Olympics right now!! I think you're on to something huge!

Wait wait wait. These kids had organically sourced natural goal posts, and you sent them plastic cones?? ERES El DIABLO!! hahahaha. Love it! How does he eat pizza without teeth? And how did you talk with the kids otherwise? In Spanish?

Hahahaha I talked to them because I'm fluent in Spanish. I'm also el diablo 😈 You're totally right, though. What was I thinking?? Taking the day today to start a campaign for organic dead birds as goal posts. Every child should have some.

You are doing fine with the teach how to fish thing.

Sometimes we just have to give fish to people that are not yet mature for fishing. I love what you're doing with Miguelito.

BTW, you look Awesome with that Water jar pix.

Little kindness of opening doors is earning Miguelito some nice snacks courstesy of @nomadicsoul.

Keep Steeming

"Sometimes we just have to give fish to people that are not yet mature for fishing."<---Oooh you're so smart!!! Thanks so much for saying that!!

Man, this is the nicest comment ever. You're right. I'm sure the memories he has and the snacks are at least something him and his brothers will never forget! So it still makes a difference even though I'm not there to give snacks anymore.

Keep being Awesome dear

wow, amazing. you are so kind with kids, that is really amazing :)

thanks for your sweet words! and for reading and commenting! I appreciate it

You left an impression for the rest of his life! These are one of the best travel moments one can have!

good point. I hope so. I agree...definitely the best moments. I hope they're still happy!

very nice photo

very nice pic

I feel sorry for Miguelito. I can not imagine a child as young as he should work and drop out of school. Who is to blame and take responsibility for his future. And this is a great post

It's very typical for a lot of 3rd world countries. It costs money to go to public school because you need to buy uniforms and books. Also, if the parents need the kids help at home, so maybe they didn't want them gone during the day anyway. I do know his parents educated them at home. They weren't technically homeschooled but they taught them how to read and write Spanish and also their native indigenous language. And basic math...especially the oldest one who was 11 with helping run the store and making change for the customeres. Education isn't always mandatory in a lot of countries.

Great work. Keep up the good work.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #streetphotography

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 17:01:13
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 159.25/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75