Words Driven Adventure - Week #2 Recap and Start of Week #3

in #storytelling5 years ago

Greetings, free and creative minds across the Universe!

Here you may take part in a collective writing adventure of unlimited scale. It may go places and spaces - that depends only on the future involvement. I just feed the fire or reignite it from time to time. You are welcome to stay by it or take away burning branches.

jmk_02_crop.jpg
I use my original work in my posts, no matter if they are photography or art related. Did you know that in Bulgaria there are people who would gather on the beach on the night before the 1st of July to celebrate the song July Morning by Uriah Heep? I used to be among them. This is not quite off-topic. You will see by the end of the article.

The most important point

New people are welcome to join or quit whenever they like. No obligations of participation. Just follow the rules in the link near the end of this post.

Let's recap:

Our last week's adventuring has been down to a minimum. But that happens in real life, too. Nothing to brood upon. Except for tons of hidden eggs of potentially dangerous species, but that is another matter. Entirely. You need to know nothing about it. Really. Nothing. All is fine, move along, please.

There. You are here. Good.

Everything about the story I keep here:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Fv8-0YEvSUCGT4gsJz2VmO2s6x-NCWfEQLyskdkDH3k/edit?usp=sharing

Out of 4 participants in the first round...
@sarez, @improv, @calluna, @veryspider

... 2 made appearance during the second one - @calluna and @veryspider.

They will each soon receive some part of a tree planted in their name through @treeplanter

No new words awarded since words were no issue last week. I will just advance the story a little bit (see the end of this post) but those prompt situations from last week remain.

Week #2

@manoldonchev - Host

Thus a committee that should be taking actions on the case known as 'The Halloween Tomes Accident' has been born and is expected to grow in members. Planning is not yet complete and only preliminary measures have been taken by a certain agent. The rest is discussion.

However, words of the theft have also given birth to some countermoves. There has appeared the idea that something such as the Tomes should have never been scheduled for transfer to virtual space and should not be ever given such publicity. It has started a social movement that is against meddling in knowledge that might be considered sacred, secret and bound to specific culture.

Nobody quotes any source of this idea so far but many are beginning to support it. Omitting the fact of the crime and other details.

Other random news of the day:

Wildfires on Darwin's Circle threatens to reach 'global' proportions. Should the Council step in nature's way and save the ring world's wildlife?
'Let them adapt!'

  • A comment by a popular Sirius bee swarm actress which gained her relatively equal amounts of billions of approvals and disapprovals in the first one standard hour.

An infamous pirate has been brought to soon face justice on Osaka XIII.

Intergalactic Black Hole Hockey League managers on strike. Star players deny them their annual leaves because supposedly now is the time to make money. This has been going on for a couple of centuries.

Weather will be all kinds of.

@veryspider - 194/305 words remaining

Olligar reported to the Committe and sees Arch Dafter.
He attempted to keep his opinions to himself and failed, really failed!

"Do we really need to work together with a thief! I say!"

Once he unsuccessfully ignored the awkwardness, he said, "I will make sure to lock up all of my belongings securely in this quest. I mean, I look forward to working with you, Arch Dafter. You seemed ...capable in... retrieving things from unwilling participants."

And he introduced Argathrax also. The giant spider seemed to like Arch Dafter a lot more than his master.
"Looks like you've been in New Mo' before. I will follow your lead, Arch Dafter."

@calluna (commenting on an old post)

No one volunteers, and faced with the prospect of returning to a planet where no questions are answered for free alone, I decide to make a quick stop by the committees private quarters on my way to the ship yard, see if I can find anything worth flogging.

/
@calluna - 227/308 words remaining

"Unwilling participants," I wink, "Those who follow me willingly find their pouches swell with coins and fate guides their step, unless they decide to run a little mutiny and elope with my sweet chef to Osaka XIII... but that's beside the point when a ship awaits"

As we board the vessel, I eye the friendly Argathrax, rather hoping no one notices the mango tones in my perfume.
"I have ne'er met a real shadow spider, does he spin the unbreakable thread?"

@veryspider - 130/305 words remaining

"I... uh, willingly follow! Towards RICHES!" Olligar answers, a bit too eagerly. "Wait, what was that about mutiny and a sweet chef?"

Argathrax scuttles past his master and follows Arch happily.

"Sounds like a band name!" Olligar muses, boarding the ship. "He poops some mighty thread, yes. When he chooses to."
"He doesn't really obey very well. Except when there's mangoes in the equation."

@ manoldonchev - Host

There's a reason New Mogadishu is called Scavengers' Paradise and it is not because of all the good dead scavengers' souls which inhabit the planet. Although there's also plenty of those in the vicinity.

A fierce mother of a dust storm forces you to land your shuttle 30 clicks away from the city in a rocky area with a few dry canyons crossing it. Which at least provides some shadow and sight obstruction. It all seems safe at first and some sand on top should cover the entrenched vessel until you call it by close range remote. Navigation seems to work properly.
You will need to stop and make a camp at some point during the night. Nobody would come and collect you until the storm is over but at least on foot you can go below the worst part of it. Good thing you brought proper protective suits.
You are even able to discern the warm colors of sunset through the shifting curtains of fine sand.

An hour later and just before you call it a day, you see the outlines of a salvaging outpost. Electric lights prove it is currently inhabited. And that little hovering drone has certainly taken an interest in you. Maybe it has signaled about your arrival already.

.....

A little bit of a nudge into Week #3, which is overdue, I know... The Prompt this week (The bonus [META] idea is totally OPTIONAL)

[META]
Relate to a song in a subtle way. You may quote four lines of it. No more. Tell us who wrote it or performed it. Those lines do not count against the word limit, described in the rules below. Those lines are a quote with an author mentioned and they are a bonus introduction to what you write below. Which can be inspired by it but it must not be too obviously connected. Achieving that will bring mysterious rewards.

[WA]

'At the sound of the first bird singing
I was leaving for home
With the storm and the night behind me
And a road of my own'

- From July Morning by the band Uriah Heep

A lonely figure walked through the dunes, cloak flapping in the wind and still shedding dust accumulated during the hours of Fury's nightly visit. The skyline of the busiest city in the Rim was still a blur. Nothing bigger than a beetle to shoot at. Hunger was the last of his problems. Too many trails he saw in the dark, most of them probably indicating crash landings. This race was crowded already...

The_Tower_1_s_f.jpg

The_Tower_2_s.jpg

And a reminder:

Rules:
https://steemit.com/storytelling/@manoldonchev/introducing-the-words-driven-adventure-a-story-to-build-together

I again invite everybody who would like to give it a try. It's quite harmless. No genes secretly copied. No implants sneaked. No personal sub-space invaded. No bounty hunter rewards on any of you. Nope. Quite safe.

Good luck and have fun!

Yours,

Manol

Sort:  

"closing time
I hope you have found a friend"
-semisonic

I grow my roots deep into the ground, anchoring myself, and spread my branches to provide even more protection to the small creatures accompanying me.

Posted using Partiko Android

[META] Nice to see you around once more. Those lines bring another 2 words for next week because of reappearance and... because you somehow nailed it at 25 words exactly. Again. It seems.

Ooo I will get in on this this afternoon, but is this your artwork?! It has such a beautiful simplicity that conveys such depth!

Thank you! Yes, I had the time to practice some watercolor this spring. I loved it. I just can't find the peace of mind lately so it is on hold. For the images of the desert I had also some inspiration from the Dark Tower series by Stephen King. I even had a rose in the bottom right corner but I cropped it out today. Also an actual photograph I saw of that Burj Khalifa tower in Dubai. The desert view was not similar, though.

[WA]Argathrax had decided to try and stand up on two legs, like all the other cool people.

Argathrax failed.

Argathrax hoped no one saw.

[META] Thank you so much for writing again, @veryspider. I will make a new recap and give another push on the story ... perhaps tomorrow. Always welcome to kick my butt into action. Also, that's 2 new words added to your limit for the cool reaction and 1 sbi share for your kind gesture.

[META]aaaaaaaa i appreciate the extra words but dont need to give me any other rewards XD i'm having fun as i go~ <3 <3 <3

[WA]
"I see the outpost... Something's telling me that we might be expected. That drone was looking mighty friendly, and I should know about friendly drones. I've had to verify some of them in the past, and let me tell you, there are dodgy drones out there that would do anything, and I mean, anything, to keep their distance between themselves and a verificator officer such as myself, so, you know, my expert assessment is that we have a super friendly drone here, just absolutely friendly."

"..."

"There's sand in my mouth :("

"Can we please get somewhere inside?"

"..."

"No, I don't think mangoes grow in this place, Argathrax, now stop clinging to your new friend as if you are a tiny kitten. You are the size of a pony, for goodness sake."

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 123 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you for digging me up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34