You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Story: The disintegration man

in #story6 years ago

I think our lives would be less complicated if we had the ability accept death as a stage in our existence and not have to mourn and regret the passing of others. Even if life appeared spontaneously, all living things share part of our DNA in common. I have wondered if we all have souls through the same process.

We cannot know that, either, but I prefer to assume that all living things do have a form of soul. That does not cause me any internal moral conflict. Souls may come in different complexities and with different "strengths". Who knows what it is that makes us alive and aware? I certainly do not.

I do wonder, though: where is everyone else in the universe? I see no reason why we should be the only sentient beings or why there is anything special about our little niche in space or time. I keep hoping for good news from SETI, but nothing.....

With death, I will be what I was destined to be. Worrying about the mechanics will have little effect on the outcome. I have tried to leave other souls to their destiny at their own pace. Beyond that, I do not think I can do much to alter my position in the general increase of entropy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43