True Stories - I Just Thwarted 2 Robberies!! +2 Older Hero Stories - Check Em Out

in #story6 years ago (edited)

In the last week:

  • I stopped an intruder from entering into a first floor apartment window at 5 AM.

  • Found $1,000+ in brand new medical equipment on my city's recycling night that turned out to be stolen from a hospital when I called the company to run the serial number, and returned it.

I was in the middle of finding antique silver, Hungarian porcelain, $300 typewriter and $100 antique typewriters, and a huge box of 1960's Barbie stuff in front of a building today, when I saw a young man walk up to a first floor window 15 feet next to me. Weird enough, but I've seen weirder...

I don't know how he didn't see me, but he quickly pushed the window open and started climbing in!! I couldn't believe it, but I had to stop him before he got in and hurt anyone.

I yelled at him and he froze. Immediately after, a dog barked from inside. He slowly lowered and tried to walk away while I stared him down. At this point, I could tell he was unarmed. He gave me such an awkward look with a baffled face. I didn't think to take a picture or video at the time, but I should have for proof. I started following him down the street and then he bolted like a deer into the night.

To protect myself since I was outside the window as well and didn't want to get framed (so punny), I went across the street to inform a building doorman about it for the time being since the window was still open. I then went back a few hours later to meet with the building supers to explain what happened, and warn the tenant to lock their window from now on. They told me that a woman sleeps right there in that room, so I'm relieved I stopped him before he got inside and potentially hurt her. They were very thankful.

The man seemed so "informed" to walk up to that window and push it up, it seemed like he already knew it'd be open for him when he got there. Either way, CRIME STOPPED.

The medical equipment was a bit frustrating because I lost out on a lot of free revenue I could've used, but I had to do the right thing and mail it back to them once I found out it was stolen. What made it more of a downer was that I found the main part of this set a few weeks ago without the base to it. Just last week, I found the brand new base in the same spot on the curb and thought it was fate that I could sell it for full price. I was laughing to myself when I found the second part and thrilled. The odds were almost impossible for that to happen.

I emailed the company pictures of the items where I found them because I always document my good finds as proof for those who don't believe me, and let them know the building address and dates. Hopefully they can inform the hospital it was stolen from so they can see if any employees live there.

STOLEN ITEM RETURNED.

On the bright side, the company let me keep the base as a gift because it didn't have a serial number, and said I was free to sell it. I can probably get $125 for it.

In the past:

  • I saved a tiny lost puppy running through speeding city traffic and got it back to its frantic owner. This was a scary experience until I could catch the dog because it was very close to being run over. To thank me, the dog peed all over me in excitement. From the tag, I called the owner who was panicking a few blocks away. Once they got to me, she tried to give me a kiss in front of my girlfriend at the time, and demanded that I take $50 from her. I said no many times, but she didn't accept no for an answer.

  • I foolishly intercepted and bear hugged a thief running from the cops after moving my ex girlfriend to the side. I then slammed him up against a brick wall before the undercover cops got there and tackled his ass. When I grabbed him, I said "you're not going anywhere", (where that came from I'll never know), and he gave up thinking I was an undercover cop as well. Out of breath, he looked me in the eyes, relaxed, and said "you got me". That was quite the rush. He was wearing a women's fur coat with lots of clothes under his arm. I don't know what I was thinking. It was a trip. ...A police van then raced up and more cops ran up/poured on the scene. I thought they'd want to interview me or take my info, but all one of them did was say "thanks" before walking off. I was with the same ex as when I found the puppy because these events happened about a week apart as well.


Have any of your own to share?

@steemmatt

Sort:  

I worked at an old theater and had late night lock up duty. I walked through the empty and darkened building checking doors.

A theater company had set up on stage earlier that day. As I passed many number of props and set pieces, I suddenly found myself confronted by a vicious and nasty looking bastard.

My heart jumped to my throat. My feet went cold. I was prepared to kill or be killed. Then I realized it was a mirror.

True story. Have a good one Matt.

damn, some cool stories you got man! you should make a book or something, with stories and pictures of finds!

Woah those are some crazy stories. So glad you saved that puppy!! 🐶 ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29