Thanks to a Steemian for fixing my brothers Macbook Screen! And it only took 30 minutes!

in #story6 years ago

A little over a week ago I received this text from my brother

RIP computer

IMG_0207.JPG

A few seconds later he followed it up with

I think I feel asleep with the computer on the couch and it fell off at night. I heard something fall in the middle of the night but I didn't think anything of it. Then I opened my computer in 1st period and it was messed up.

In the typical fashion I would handle getting the screen repaired for him.

I texted my buddy, @kcotton, who works at a local computer repair shop and he told me to come up to the shop to see if they had the screen in store. After finding the model of the Macbook, we came to realize they did not have one in stock. Consequently one had to be ordered.

Shipping

According to the tracking information from DHL and provided below it appeared to leave Hong Kong at approximately 1:45PM yesterday afternoon. Less than 10 hours later it arrived and passed through customs in Cincinnati, Ohio. 24 hours later the package was delivered to the shop!

When the screen arrived at the shop I received a text from @kcotton asking me to bring the Macbook so he could install the new screen.

The new screen has arrived!

IMG_0199.jpg

Now it was time for @kcotton to work his magic like he always does!

The first step was for him to off the bottom part of the Macbook. Here is what it looked like after he unscrewed the bottom screws of the computer.

IMG_0195.jpg

The screen is connected to keyboard and base by two hinges with three screws, one on each end of the base of the Macbook.

IMG_0197.jpg

After they dissembled the sets of screws and disconnected the LCDconnectors they lined up the new screen with the table to ease putting on the new screen.

IMG_0200.jpg

Once the new screen was lined up and the LCD was connected, the screws were installed and we could check to make sure the new LCD was successfully installed.

IMG_0202.jpg

After checking it turned on, @Kcotton installed the back plate and the remaining screws.

IMG_0204.jpg

We flipped the computer over, popped up the screen, and turned that bad boy on! The LCD came on and we were back in business! Booyah!!!!

IMG_0204.jpg

In less than 30 minutes @kcotton was able to dissemble the old LCD screen and install the new screen! Thanks for all your help getting the little brother back up and running!

He couldn't wait to play Minecraft again!!

Sort:  

Great Story... I sent you a msg on steemit chat...

Thank you! I responded!

Always glad to help! I just hope he doesn't break it again!

Just last night he realized he could use and the HDMI connection to view the screen! Haha I hope he has learned his lesson! Thanks again!

He just learned a very valuable skill with the HDMI! Comes in handy when you have 2 TV's, but only one has cable and you want to watch 2 football games at once!

Ah, a steemit success story. One of many that probably has happened with many more to happen in the future. Good job @kcotton

I’m sure it’ll happen to us again in the future! He did a great job and fixed it super quickly!

Thanks!

Well it turns out you are also very creative in the problem of setting the program is broken, you are a genius and I salute you.

Wow!!Amazing!!

Excellent story, very nice, great post, thanks for sharing

Cool and informatif. Beautiful post

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88