The story of Eddy the snail (when life gives you the opportunity to thrive) (3min read)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Eddy is a snail (a slow, ugly, slimy snail - no... he's actually a very beautiful one). But his looks don't matter so much in this story.

Eddy, lived in a small snail village next to a big street. And every time, he crept out of his little house he saw, in the far, a large tree on the other side of the street. The tree was perfect. It had everything he needed to have an awesome life. Great view, tasty leaves, and green grass next to it.

Naturally, since he was young, his big dream was to get to the other side of the street.

His only problem: The street was junked with traffic that made it seemingly impossible for any snail to cross it.

"Why can't I just have normal dreams," Eddy thought... And he felt stupid to desire something that felt so out of reach.

But despite his sadness, Eddy crept every morning to the side of the street, to look at the beautiful tree on the other side.

His snail friends felt sad for Eddy. Every day he showed up disappointed at work. They wanted to be nice with him and tried to encourage him to forget about his big dreams. They told him that there were many other things to do in life.

"Don't get me wrong," said Frank, his snail-buddy, "I'd love you to discover the other side, but there are so many cars passing... I just don't want you to die."

Little did Eddy know that Frank secretly also wanted to get to the other side. But he was afraid to admit it. And like Frank, most of the snails had the same dream too. But they forgot about it, because they were told that it was impossible. After all they had to pay the snail insurance and the pay off the mortgage of their snail-houses.

Eddy felt lonely. Lost. Hopeless. Nobody seemed to understand him. And yet, there was something within him that - against all odds, believed in his dream to come true.

So everyday, after work he you showed up at the street to look at the other side.

Without having a clue how he would ever make it. But the how didn't bother Eddy, he simply fell in love with his dream itself. It just felt good to think about it.

Each day, at the street he closed his eyes and imagined to be on the other side. The thoughts alone filled him with joy.

One summer evening, Eddy dreamed at the street again - it felt better than ever and he forgot the time completely. As he opened his eyes, he noticed that it was already dark.

All snails already went to bed, and everything was quiet. For a moment, Eddy felt shame and guilt. "The snails must think that I'm crazy," he thought, but then he realized that they were all asleep and probably didn't bother.

Eddy was ready to go to bed, but then he stopped.

He looked up to the other side of the street. Only the streetlights gave shape and form to the world. There were no cars, no traffic. It was completely quiet.

Eddy couldn't believe it. Was that his moment?

Just to be sure, he waited a few minutes, but no car, nothing - just silence.

Without being aware, Eddy did what he envisioned thousands of times before in his head.

He didn't think, his body just seemed to move. And he crept, crept and crept.

Before Eddy realised, he reached with full-snail-speed the tree on the other side.

He looked up to the heaven and asked the snail-god, "how did I deserve this?"... Nothing came - because there was no snail god...

But the moral of the story is this: Opportunity is like a holy door. But it only opens up for them who are willing to look. Who believe in themselves. Eddy is my rolemodel because he showed up consistently. Until he was at the right place, at the right time.

Eddy, you're awesome. You show me that I don't need to hope for an opportunity, but that I'm the creator of them.

----------

Copyright of the story: @sams-world (all rights reserved)

I created this story as a part of the weekly writing challenge of BuddyUp. The topic was "Opportunity"

If you like the story, and my writings, head over to my channel, or click here to find my daily updated wordpress blog, with inspirational, uplifting short-notes, stories and articles.

Thanks for reading my snail friends.

Best wishes to you! 

Sam

Sort:  

Dayum. This gave me shivers at the end.

I really liked how you tied in how he envisioned his dream and consistently wondered and lived it, then he grabbed it when he had the opportunity.

"The snails must think that I'm crazy," he thought, but then he realized that they were all asleep and probably didn't bother.

Another fantastic part, a brief realization that, yeah.. people might think you're crazy, but definitely not now when they're out of it. So does it matter now? Does it matter at all? It's just your thoughts that matter when it comes to seizing your dream.

Loved it, fantastic post.

Love this comment @calumam - It's an awesome question to ask: What does matter most to me? And am I living according to that?
Hope to talk to you next week again! have a great week!
Sam

It reminded me of you a few months ago @calumam... Talking to your friends and realizing you had all moved in different directions... You had grown beyond them

Yep. People will talk and mock... That's ok :)

We will be awake, enjoying life while they're asleep...

"The snails must think that I'm crazy," he thought, but then he realized that they were all asleep and probably didn't bother.

The others were probably asleep. Not living their dreams, but sleeping in what they believed to be true. Great way to put it, honestly.

You did a fantastic job on this @sams-world, what a great message!! Eddy is my hero!!

Eddy, you're awesome. You show me that I don't need to hope for an opportunity, but that I'm the creator of them.

It's inspiring to see you jump in with both feet and write such a great story about Eddy the snail...which in turn got you the coveted curie vote. Not only did you create opportunity but you took a chance and owned it!! This was a great story, thanks for sharing this with us... I am very proud of you and really look forward to seeing what you come up with next! Congratulations @sams-world!!

Thank you so much @monchhichi23, haww... i apprectiate your words.

And i can't get my head around on how ironic this whole thing is. isn't it :D Eddy this fucker, I owe him a pint... lol.

I life's gifts sometimes come in unexpected ways... Eddy is my hero too..

Love it man! We should all be as brave as Eddy! :D

@smylie2005 yesss, haha,Eddy is the man :D thank you for your feedback! hope you're doing well!!?

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Great lesson here! See what you want and go for it! We are the makers of our own destiny! :D -smylie2005

this would be a WONDERFUL children's story!!!!! I giggled throughout - but it really did have a powerful message presented very sweetly!!

I enjoyed it so much :) Thanks for being so creative!!!

haha, thank you so muchh!! I'm so glad. I actually had this thought today when I posted this: "wow, that was fun... I might should do more of those kinds..." :))
best wishes to you @dreemsteem and have a great week!

Sam

I've also written children's books in the real world 😊
It's a special thing to take a difficult concept and make it easy to enjoy for a child!!!

wow really? I always respect authors so much. As I know how much dedication and love it takes to write a book. have you published them? :o
yes, I actually enjoyed the process, from taking something more "serious" into something more uplifting, and fun... it was very refreshing for me personally.

yes - they're published. It's nice to see an idea come to fruition and hold your finished product in your hands! :)

Wow. I'm so proud of you!!! I had this experience twice last year. It was such an amazing feeling. I'm usually not a big whiner but, when I finished my first book, a shiver and tears of gratitude overcame me, I just couldn't stop it. It was as if I had done something which I never thought possible...

Yes!!!!! It's so true :)
It's surreal!

Hi sams-world,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Ahhhh, EEEKKK! I may be just as excited as you @sams-world!! HAHA :D Keep up the great work my friend!

I could have never imagined this when I wrote this post this morning. Thank you so much! wow. I'm speechless. It's such a big, big honor to me! Thank you for supporting - it's such an unexpected boost! I'm so grateful!
Best wishes,
Sam

Great things don't announce their arrival, do they? :)

no. ^^ life's gifts tend to come unexpectedly :))

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

What a wonderful story @sams-world - This should for sure be a kids book!!!

thank you @andysantics48 I'm so glad for your feedback! :)))

because there was no snail god...

Haha rude awakening.

I like the story and that patience plays such a big role, once you have been patient then determination has to take over since even with the door open you can't be sure how long the path is to the end.

👍 Is Eddy taking hitchhikers?

I'm not sure about the hitchhikers, I will have to ask him!
but thanks for the comment and your thoughts about it @penderis - I love those comments that inspire me and give me insights!! :) so thanks again!
have a great week.
Sam

In the end, consistency beats talent beats talent every time.

BTW, typo alert "encourage him", not *encourage you", right?

Namaste, Jaichai

thanks a lot! true! just re-edited it!! cheers, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76