It's No Wonder So Many Shopify Stores Fail | This is How NOT TO Run Your Shopify Store

in #story6 years ago


This is how NOT TO run your Shopify Store

Hey guys, Rules for Rebels back with another video. Today we are talking about operating a Shopify Store, as well as dropshipping from Ali Express.

I saw a thread on the r/Shopify subreddit yesterday where a guy was asking about the legality of return policies. He was dropshipping a product from Ali Express that had very bad reviews and had a 90% default rate as in 90% of the products did not work. Ironically enough he referred to this as a "winning product".

He went on to say that if he offered an 8 day return policy that would in a way protect him, because Ali Express woudln't have the product to the customer for 16 to 20 days, so in essence, by the time the customer received the product, they could no longer return it. Therefore he could sell an inferior broken product and not have to give people their money back.

Now I know people who are new to eCommerce are going to make mistakes. I regularly see people who try to sell trademarked and branded items purchased off Ali, and honestly most of them are just nieve. They don't know how business works, and they don't know any better. Most people when corrected or educated on the subject stop doing it.

This topic today, this isn't nievity, this is a Shopify seller trying to make sure he covers his but and gets to keep people's money after screwing them over.

This is a very bad idea. First off not only is this a recipe for failure. eCommerce businesses thrive on return customers, if your always having to find new customers your never going to make any money.

More importantly however is having a return policy does not protect you from credit card chargebacks. As I said in the video, if I bought a broken product from this guy and he told me sorry no returns, I'd be getting on the phone with Chase and doing a credit card chargeback.

Chase ultimately would give me my money back. The seller would be out not only the money but the product as well. Shopify Payments aka Stripe would also charge him something like $37 in fees for having a chargeback, and if it happens more than a handful of times in a month they will close his account meaning he can't process payments anymore. It will also be incredibly difficult for him to get payment processing in the future.

A little bit of money today is not worth screwing over yourself for life with payment processors. Rather than trying to take advantage of people for some short term money, build a long term sustainable business.

Long story short, don't run your Shopify store like this.

Sort:  

Anything sold on Ali Express is shite, and anyone who is dumb enough to buy from a digital nomad deserves to get burnt in my opinion... and people wonder why most people buy everything on Amazon nowadays... to avoid shit like this!

Yeah I've ordered a few items off Ali Express but am typically disapointed in quality. The only things I'll order off Ali Express are cheaper items where quality isn't that important.

I buy those hair drain wigs off Ali Express, the ones that catch the hair going down your drain. At the store they charge a couple bucks per one, on Ali I think I got like 20 for under 10 bucks. Aside from that though its normally disapointing

Yeah, all cheap ass shit from China that isn't even inspected, the shit is pathetic, and a real prime job for digital nomads living in poor Asian countries.

all we need is quality goods

DAAAAMN, that is jacked up!

I was thinking about setting up a drop ship store, but just can't put my finger on a product set that I don't mind promoting... got any ideas? lol

Keep up the good work man!

Hey @cryptostache I've found my self getting tempted to take a stab at dropshipping. Here's my thing, unless it's a total chochki type $5 product where people can't really complain about the long shipping times it's not something I would personally be comfortable doing.

I would browse around ThomasNet.Com and see if any USA domestic manufacturers have an interesting product, contact them and see if they'd be willing to dropship it for you.

Another idea I had recently was dropshipping stuff from Costco. There's an app called importify which is sorta like Oberlo for Ali. What I like about Costco is...

A. Not everyone has a Costco near them or doesn't have a membership so some would probably still buy from you even if they know your a dropshipper.

B. Costco has quality products and also because a good majority of what costco sells is their own lines or brands its not something that people can easily find at Walmart, Target, on Amazon, etc.

C. Costco has a lot of really cool products. I recently bough a waterproof outdoor speaker which I love, a little ladder that goes like 17 feet and is super sturdy, basically just really cool shit that to me would be an easy impulse buy item.

Yeah the shipping time from overseas is one of the drawbacks for me too....

You make a DAMN good point about Costco, I am going to look into that for sure, as well as Thomasnet.com (which I didn't know about).

Thanks for the heads up!

Hi, buddy

Great post. Im also just learning about shopify so i found it very useful.

Let me suggest something that may help your readers a lot. You should justify your posts.

The difference will be huge. Just like on picture below:
justify.png

You can find it explained quite well here:
https://steemit.com/html/@dyrits/steem-it-1-how-to-justify-your-text

and obviously upvoted :)

Yours, Piotr

It is really terrible to see people run their business this way. I lost my money and product to one these e-commerce shops in my country once. I ordered for a phone and they totally delivered something different. Had to return it and was told I will get a replacement or cash returned but till this day, I haven't gotten anything. I never refers anyone I know there again.

Hey @yungchief I imagine this was probably a while back so this may or may not work for you, but in the states we can do what's called a credit card chargeback, typically up until 6 months later. Basically if this company never followed through on their promise call your credit card company, they'll ask you some details about the incident and will most likely give you your money back.

It is always a risk when we buy in this way, @rulesforrebels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25