Flight Lieutenant William Baggs Asked To Be Flagged.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I am not kidding the Airman asked to be flagged on purpose.

He thought no one would believe the story he had to tell.

If I did not read his story and see the flag in question with my own eyes, I wouldn't have believed his 70+ year old tale either.

Let me start by saying that I am not a World War II history buff.  Nor am I an aviation or naval combat expert, but I am fascinated by real life stories, from actual people, who lived their stories.

I also feel responsible for sharing what I have learned, (especially if the yarn is a really good one), with others who I think might be equally interested in it.

This is one such story. I do hope you will enjoy it, just as much as I have.

I learned about it during a recent trip to the National Air Force Museum of Canada which is located in the Trenton ward, of the city of Quinte West, in Ontario Canada. 

It was buried in the back far corner of the museum, but the bright colours of the flag caught my eye and I was immediately compelled to investigate further.

Oddly, but not surprisingly, I have not been able to collaborate the story 100% with additional research obtained from time spent searching the Web. The majority of the story I can verify, but not the specific details surrounding Canadian, Flight Lieutenant William Baggs' specific actions, which makes it a little more mysterious.

As the story goes, the ship in question, namely the Nurnberg was in the Wilhelmshaven Harbour in Germany.

This is a picture of the massive ship that had be re-purposed for World War II initiatives. Its job was to lay defensive minefields and train in the North Sea.

  Attribution: Bundesarchiv, DVM 10 Bild-23-63-63 / CC-BY-SA 3.0  This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Germany license. 

In May 1945, F/L Baggs found himself performing ground tasks with the 4th Canadian Armoured Division. He was on a reconnaissance mission in the Wilhelmshaven Harbour with Captain Tommy Jarvis from the Canadian Army Unit and an unnamed Canadian intelligence officer. It was just days before Germany surrendered unconditionally.

The 3 of them were invited by the Commanding Officer of the Nurnberg, German light cruiser of the Leipzig class to accept the surrender of the ship.

Thinking that nobody would believe this highly unusual situation and their story, William Baggs asked the Commanding Officer if he could have a few items to prove that he was surrendering the ship in his charge, to the 3 of them.

William asked for the huge flag, baring the Swastika crest from the stern of the ship.

This flag is kept behind glass and its colours are still vibrant to this very day.

It is the first one that I have actually seen in person...because Mr. Baggs had the foresight to ask for it.

The other items that he asked for were a 7.65 mm Mauser automatic, a couple of Naval bayonets and the Commanding Officer's own walking stick.

(The last request was pretty cheeky, I thought. Baggs might as well have asked for the CO's underwear.)

Here's a couple of other German related artifacts from World War II, that I thought were interesting and are on display at the museum, too.

To conclude the story of the Nunberg's surrender, in January 1946 the ship was assigned as a "war prize" and given to the Soviet Navy. The ship was renamed the "Admiral Makarov" and she served until 1959 before being written off the navy records and scrapped.

 This is a little Cessna and I, inside the museum.

I do hope you enjoyed this incredible story of the day that Mr. Baggs asked to be flagged. ;)

(I know that it's hard for any of us Steemians to believe that anyone would want to be flagged...on purpose, but allegedly it happened. The flag was loaned to the museum by Mr. Baggs. It's wool and is 341 cm by 195 cm. It's a huge flag.) 

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan



Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.27 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very interesting story. Thank you for sharing this information.

You are welcome @michaelstobiersk, thanks for reading and commenting!
I appreciate it.

I am making you the last person I say thanks to as I get offline here after a crappy 2016 LOL

I am just dropping by to say I am thinking of you at this time and thanks for the support on here and friendship.


I hope you have a good 2017. The last year has honestly been the worst of my life after the car running me over, and I am spending time tonite posting to wish others a good year. It won't help me but it might help someone else LOL.

good night and thanks again sister.

You would be happy after your post like this to know I have been a Camp-X activist over the years to help that piece of history for the war effort, in my town. I live less than 5 mins N. of it.

Nite friend.

Best to you, my friend. You are in my thoughts.
I will look into Camp X. I am not aware of it.
I really think it will get better for all of us. ;)

The LSS -- Camp X was where the trained the spies in partnership with the UK. The land it sat on is literally beside the CAW HQ down there on Phillip Murray Ave as it turns into Boundary Rd.

You will always see Lynn-Phillip Hodgson's name come up with Camp X --- he is the world's foremost authority on it. He moved out of the area about 3 years ago to Burlington to be closer to his kids.

  • he is not in the best shape anymore but he still does walking tours of the area once a year, for Doors Open Ontario week here --- September.

We have been friends for years. Because of that project.

Have you blogged about this Barry?
The story is fascinating and I'd love to learn more about the history and speculation behind the activities that were engaged in there.

Your posts and our chats today about it all, and last nite -- have me honestly thinking about it. I could easily do a year long series on this topic alone and never run out of things to say and have all the info and sources like you say. I have literally walked the lands many times and have pieces of the housing from the spy camp in my house.

Most people do not know that the James Bond 007 character was 100% based on the Intrepid spy and series of the same name connected to Camp X here, and there is an Intrepid street and park here related.

Camp 30 in Bowmanville is related too --- it was the POW camp and is largely regarded as the Palm Springs of POW camps, LOL. (not really kidding though) and I have worked on that, and walked those lands and buildings too, before we lost that fight and the site destroyed not long ago.

I strongly encourage you to GET TYPING @barrydutton!
That's a strong series of valuable stories.
At the very least, save the history of the blockchain forever.

Actually.... the last 2 yrs on CBC -- if you have seen the show X Company-- that is 100% based on the spy camp and location. You can stream episodes online and catch up, it is really good. New broke 2 mths ago this is the last season. There is a FB group of a similar name too. But you will want to stay away if you have not seen the episodes, they rack up spoiler dialogue super fast there LOL

I have signed copies of Camp X related books too by Lynn. He gave them to me to use for my activism for gathering funding for things.

You should post about all of this Barry. Your story is multi-faceted and you have a personal connection and involvement. It is very interesting.

Very interesting story.

Thank you @stephen-somers!
You just never know what you are going to learn.
It is a fascinating story. Mr. Baggs definitely considered himself an Airman which I guess is why he loaned the flag to the Air Force Museum and not a Naval Museum. :)

Wow great story. It seems totally believable to me . Maybe esp. the walking stick part- since it was an extension of the man it belonged to.

Thanks @ehutchison! I was shocked to see how vibrant the actual flag looks being over 70+ years old and on a mast of a big ship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04