Being the girl I want my daughter to become.

in #story7 years ago

I see so many young ladies live their life's in a wasteful manner, destroying their future by running after things that are not of lasting benefits, breaking people's marriages and relationships and their excuse is that they want to enjoy their youthful age to the fullest and you begin to wonder if they will want thier kids to grow up and become like them. It is really sad because thier kids sometimes grow up to become like them thereby making the society more corrupt as the day goes by.

I had this room mate in my first year in the university who was a ''runs girl,as we choose to call it here (prostitute) who specializes in dating all manner of wealthy guys, as long as you have the money, then you can do whatever you like with her, she was always going out with different people and she was making lots of money from it, she used the money to get herself expensive clothes, shoes , bags and accessories, different men with exquisite cars usually came to pick her up from the hostel at night's and to drop her off the next morning.


Image source

She did several abortions both at the hospital and in the hostel using local methods like using an hanger to remove the foetus herself, after the last operation the doctor advised her not to try another abortion as she might loss her life in the process.

After six months she told me that she was pregnant and she could not keep the child because she cannot identify the father, I reminded her of the doctor's warning and she agreed to keep the baby as I promised to support her in any way I can. She kept on with her usual business until her tommy started protruding, she did that with the excuse that she wanted to gather enough money to take care of her child as she has decided to listen to my numerous pleas to stop the act of prostituting and she was going to use the money she has to set up her own little business, I was really excited to hear her mention those words.

We both went to get everything she will start selling in her new shop as she had to drop out of school because her parent stopped paying her fees, business was going on well for her and she kept on making her money , this gave her concrete reasons why she should never go back into prostitution.

Years went by and I saw my ex-room mate again after a long time , her daughter was at the age of sixteen and she was complaining about the fact that her daughter was getting too wayward and she is acting the exact way she was acting when she was in school as well which is really a bad omen, she told me that she has tried all that she could to talk to her but all to no avail, when I tried talking to her daughter, the reply she gave me was that her mum has enjoyed her own time as a youth and she doesn't want her to enjoy hers, she said she was ready to enjoy every bit that life has to offer regardless of how her mum feels, my ex-room mate was moved to tears as she stared at her daughter and she confessed to me that she wish she had lived a life that is worthy of emulation by her daughter, she regretted all that she had done and wish she could take back the hand of the clock.

Thanks for taking out time to read my post, do not hesitate to up vote, comment and esteem @oluwatobiloba.

Sort:  

Parents should also look after whom their children are hanging with because peer influences and pressures will defy what their children will become too.

really true my friend, thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28