Travelling 650 Feet Underground

in #story6 years ago

We made a pit stop in Buhler, Kansas on our way to a wedding in Colorado. I am thankful we did, for we were able to tour a salt mine 650 feet underground.

Strataca has a working salt mine where they retrieve road salt for the Chicago metropolis. The section that they mined in the 20’s, 30’s, and 40’s is now a museum for the public to enjoy.


We traveled down in an elevator that is a custom made double decker and capable of transporting 30 people at a time. We packed in like sardines and descended in the dark.

In total, Strataca has cut into 150 miles of rock in their mines. The ceilings are about 10 feet high so even I didn’t have a problem bumping my head.


If you think that is a cardboard cutout of Mike Rowe from Dirty Jobs, you are quite right. Mike stopped by in 2006 to work in the salt mines for an episode.

This is just one of the many special pieces of equipment that you see in the mine. Does it look similar to coal mining equipment? Well, that is because most of the machinery is the same as the coal industry.

One item I was not expecting, is the amount of storage from the world above you find in the mine.

There are many items that Hollywood keeps in the naturally preserved atmosphere of a salt mine. We found costumes, weapons, data reels, and even the barrel from Twister perfectly preserved.




Coupled with the natural preservation the salt mine provides, it also serves as a great space for data storage. You can image how much space there is in 150 miles to store some boxes.

There is actually a separate company from the mining corporation who operates as a data storage facility.



One of my favorite articles from ages past, is an actual article from 1865. This New York Herald paper is from the day after President Lincoln was assassinated. For years, it was stored above ground in climate controlled rooms. When the storage company acquired the paper, they decided to move it 650 feet underground away from potential bombs and weather for people to enjoy for decades.


Sort:  

Very interesting outing. I woudn't think a visit to a salt mine would be appealing, but it looks l8ke fun. Resteemed.

It sounded a bit odd at first, but once we were there I was fascinated. :)

I wonder if we'd be preserved from aging if we lived down there? hehe....interesting tourist adventure. I don't think I could do it because I am claustrophobic....but not as much as some people I know :)

It's nice to see couples having fun and doing road trips. Glad you two are having fun.

Lol, that is a good question. Breathing the air did clear our heads a bit. There are some people that say their allergies are not as bad or go away while in the mines.

We are having a good time with all these weddings this year. :)

Maybe I should put John down there - he has asthma - that would clear it up?? lol. He'd NEVER EVER go into that mine. Maybe I'll make him a salt pillow.

Something like a Himaylayan Salt Lamp could be helpful.

http://www.criticalcactus.com/himalayan-pink-salt-lamp-health-benefits/

Do they really work? Or is it fringe medicine? My son has them all over his house because his wife is into oil therapies etc and she believes they clean the house of negative energy. Ugh. If they work I'll definitely try one for John.

Personally, we have not bought one yet. We use Himaylayan Salt for similar medicinal needs. I have heard of others having success with a salt lamp.

Thanks Lydon. Happy New Year and best wishes for the coming year, one filled with love, grace, mercy and strength.

Thank you, Ms Deb. You are such a blessing to us.

It reminds me of a song. Working in a Salt Mine ...okay, it was a coal mine ...but it also reminds me of another song, Happy Birthday to YOU :)

Deb and I love you lydon and are sending lots of smiles your way. Hope you and Abi are celebrating in earnest :)

It is similar work. :)

Oh, you are swell. Thank you for remembering. Abi and I are celebrating with friends.

We love you and Deb dearly, John. We feel like you are great friends despite not meeting in person..... yet.

I used to say swell. Haven't heard that word in ages. I had a string of words that I used in high school..... I'd say very quickly

super peachy keen fabo neat and shwell

the "s" became "sh"

Fun facts about me. ;)

And

Lol! Fun facts for sure. That is a tongue twister.

haha who could possibly think that all those treasures were hidden down there

I certainly didn’t.

wow a wonderful experience this must be very interesting to see and read :D

It was intriguing to see the past so well preserved. :)

lots of stuff from Hollywood too there wow :)

Yes, there is. I was surprised at all the relics there. :)

Thanks for this fantastic photo essay, Lydon.

I look at those tunnels and wonder who figured out how wide they could be cut without collapsing from the weight of everything above...

😄😇😄

@creatr

It is an engineering marvel down in those caves. There are 40x40 foot bases that serve as pillars every 100 feet. The accuracy with that heavy equipment was amazing.

I would love to see that!

BTW, if you ever have the chance, you and your bride need to visit Carlsbad Caverns... :D

Here is one. You can see the bases on the right there. Also, this is a roof that partially fell in. They left the debri on the floor. :)

image

Uh-oh... The sky is falling!

That's what I'm talkin' about! :O

We had one under us where I was raised on the outside of Detroit. My buddy Leonard worked as a guide there. When I was young we used to here and feel the dynamite explosions every weekday at 1:30 lol

Lol, you could set your clock it!

that place has many different and fascinating things

It certainly does. We had a good time.

Incredible post thanks for sharing this one :)

You’re welcome. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27