Stepping into Serenity

in #story7 years ago

I'm walking down these dreary streets - my mind analyzing and looking to cope with reality. How did I ever arrive at this dark hour? My wife left me, and my poor performance at work is instigating my boss to micromanage me.

The cold air whips through my coat like it isn't even there. I huddle deeper into my chest hoping to alleviate the chill that is creeping through my bones.

The darkness seems to grow with the storm clouds in my head. My eyes adjust to the low light as I turn the corner onto Weary Lane - tonight, that name could not be more appropriate. I wonder if things will ever get better. I imagine a new job and new surroundings if only I had more money for a move.

My home comes into sight and a wave of emotions and memories flood over me. My despair and joy mixing like a bittersweet cocktail in my core. The pictures of children dancing on the lawn that I envisioned for years drifting away with the crisp wind. My safe haven is becoming a chamber of shackles enrapturing a man eager to give up the fight.

Whilst wallowing in my discontent, my senses pick up the approach of another being - it is a beggar. His clothes are tattered and his coat barely covers the thin form before me. Yet, his eyes and demeanor leave me stiff in my tracks. I've never seen a man walk so upright, nor seen eyes so brilliant. He looks like a millionaire and walks like a king. He smiles at me as I go by and a magnanimous warmth permeates every inch of my skin. I am left nearly breathless as a wave of disgust washes over me. Do I truly have it so bad? I glance back to see him again and watch him turn the corner away from Weary Lane.

I lay in bed that night and wonder. Is it the moment that makes the man, or is it the man who makes the moment? Did I allow my life to say who I am? Sure, I acted ignorantly and selfish to my wife, but she is not gone yet. Her mother has been gracious enough to keep us talking.

Do I want to leave this earth saying what if? My hands start fidgeting at my side as they ready to write my repentance. Words of the soul begin to fill my fingers and I know I won't fall asleep till the page is full. The fire that sparked in me earlier casts me from the covers. I sit at my desk till there is nothing left to be said, and serenity again enters my home.


Thank you for visiting.alt text me for more great content.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

Beautiful story from you @lydon.sipe
I like!!!

Thank you @barvon! Appreciate your encouragement. :)

You are welcome..
I am glad for your compliment, @lydon.sipe you are a smart person in making a post, different from me.

a good concept, lydon - if I can add a positive word of encouragement what would move this from the anecdotal level is more show and less tell, but I like the way you think :)

Thank you John. Do you mean less narration and more interaction of the characters in this case?

less narration in the sense of your summarizing and telling about what happened - use dialogue, and let the characters interact. When you turn characters loose, wonder is afoot :)

very interesting, thanks for posting - Subbed!

Nice! Thank you my friend.

Cool job! Thank you! Good luck!

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it. :)

This is the true story of your life? I wish you all the best! Just believe!

It's not, my wife and I are quite happy. Thank you for your kind spirit and sweet encouragement. You are special.

Very creative. It inspires me to think about doing more with the pen. Much appreciated.

Thank you my friend! Glad you enjoyed reading it and found some inspiration from the story. :)

Hey! I hope things are going well with you. I am taking some time to wish my favorite Steemians Happy Bitcoin Pizza Day!

Keep up the great posts! Steem on friend!

Haha, happy bitcoin pizza day indeed!

I am doing quite well my friend. The story is fictional so no worries. Thank you for checking - it shows how much you care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87