You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How you interact in Finland

in #story6 years ago

I got some heavy anxiety just reading this. It sounds hellish.

A friend on mine went to work in Finland for a year or so and he told me that in the winter it was very common for people to open their window, yell out out it--at the top of their lungs--and a few seconds or minutes later hear someone else do the same in response. Apparently people go back and forth a few times and this is how they cope with extreme loneliness. I found this very hard to believe. In fact, I laughed out loud when he told me. But reading this article now made his story more credible to me.

Sort:  

What??

I've never seen that happen.

It sounds really crazy, but I've never been to Finland, so I couldn't dismiss it as not true lol

I've lived in Finland all my life. Trust me, people don't do that. At least not in any of the neighborhoods I've ever lived in. I've lived in every type of housing from what would be called Section 8 housing in the USA or council flats in the UK to upper middle class neighborhoods. You don't have people opening their windows at night and yelling at each other like wolves. :D

You have been served a plateful of hot steaming **** by your friend. He has taken up our national sport of telling foreigners outlandish tales about our country and watching them swallow them hook, line and sinker with a straight face. There are relatively many such people here who are capable of deadpan delivery of anything. This is perhaps why Finland is great at poker relative to its small population.

How do I know you are not just another Finnish person telling a foreigner something outlandish like "we don't open our windows and yell at each other like wolves!"

Nice poker face hahaha

Yes, it might be hard to tell if screaming out of the window like a wolf is presumed to be the global norm. :)

Tried dragging and dropping, and I'm not very code savvy yet, but this seemed appropriate

https://gfycat.com/ConstantDecimalKarakul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27