You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Captured By The Apache: Tales Of Tribe Culture

in #story5 years ago

I was just reading a long thread on the internet about water moccasins and whether they chase you or not. The experts said they do not, hundreds of non-experts claim they do. Thankfully I have no personal experience, but apparently this sort of snake concern has made it all the way to modern times :)

Sort:  

very interesting ginnyannette! well I've talked to locals here who've seen alot of them and they say they can be very agressive and one guy said when they were fishing one time alot of them showed up and they had to try and outrun them because they were coming up to the boat and trying to get in, one guy was on the motor and the other guy was using an oar to beat them in the head when they tried to get in!
I always carry a gun when I'm down at the one pond we have which has not been cleared out around it, lots of overgrowth and I've seen one down there.
I thought you'd be asleep by now!

That is the sort of stories people were telling. One expert was saying that the moccasins can't see well, and they think you are a shadow to hide under. That made zero sense to me. I think that expert was even more sleep drunk than I am. Scary stuff. I live near a creek and have always thought I'd run into one, but I haven't. I've heard nonvenomous snakes don't live on the same land as venomous, and thus far that seems to be the case because I have a lot of rat snakes.

Oh I haven't heard that about non venomous and venomous not living on the same land. I've seen both on our property though, one of the first ones we saw was a Copperhead at the end of the porch. You have to be very alert all the time that's for sure. Even rat snakes creep me out.

The neighbor kid was playing with my son the other day and decided to grab a bunch of spider egg sacks and bring them in the house to show me. I flipped out. So freaking disgusting! My wise son instinctively knew not to touch those things :)

oh do spiders freak you out? Do snakes? Spiders don't bother me and I've seen some huge ones in Texas. Your son knew better!

Spiders don't bother me too much so long as they aren't touching me. But the eggs - gross.

It must be midnight in Texas? It is 1 here. Alright, I'm finally going to sleep :)

yes Ma'am it's midnight here, have a great night's sleep!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86