Vegetarianism. Meat-eater philosophy.

in #story6 years ago

diet-food-macro-111130.jpg
source

Vegetarianism.

Today I ate a delicious fried meat, and remembered the time when I was trying to become a vegetarian.

In fact, I really love animals, and I would like for our world to have a more merciful food chain, without eating living creatures. I even have some thoughts on this. But I'll leave it for another post :)

lion-3327806_640.jpg
source


Since my childhood I have used to eating meat without thinking about animals' suffering. Empathy and compassion appeared later.

When I was 17-18 years old, my compassion for animals was so strong that I decided to become a vegetarian. I stopped to eating meat.

In the beginning it was easy. I easily switched to a vegetarian diet. But it took 2-3 weeks, and I began to have dreams, in which fried chicken, slices of bacon and other meat dishes was flying around me... I woke up on a pillow wet from drooling))

simpson.gif
source

Here I must also mention one important detail.
By formation, I'm a teacher of French, but when I graduated from university, it was a difficult time in the history of my country. It was so hard to find a job. With help of my cousine I got a job. I was working as saleswoman, in a store selling meat products)) Every day, kilograms of delicious meat products passed by me))

But I still continued to eat vegetarian food.

and often changed the pillows, lol )

And one day a book of Carlos Castaneda came into my life)). This was one of the important stages for me. This book has had a deep impact on my entire life, and in particular, it has helped me to realize at a very deep level many aspects in life. One of these aspects is my attitude to food.

apple-appreciation-bread-669731.jpg
source

I realized that life pulses not only in animals. But also in a thin sprout stretching towards the sun. And the roots that grow into the earth. Flowing water, a flying butterfly, stones. All this is life.
And for me, vegetarianism has ceased to be an act of compassion for living creatures. It's just one of the diets, which is probably very useful. Actually I really respect vegetarians. I read many articles about improving health with this diet. However, the placebo effect is also not excluded.

vegetable-skewer-3317060_640.jpg
source


My meat-eater philosophy

That day I was at work. It was an hour when there was almost no visitors. And I was reading Castaneda's book.

I looked at the smoked quails lying on the counter. They always made me feel sorry and compassionate. So small frail bird! At the same time they were relatively expensive. And since in my country there were dark times, they were bought very rarely.

I looked at these little birds, and realized that if they were not bought and not eaten, their death would be in vain. Nothing will return them, they have already died. And it will be even more horrible if their death was in vain and their meat was useless. And I decided to return to eating meat, starting with quail)

mrbn.gif

source

I want to emphasize that now I do not kill even insects, I have my own agreement with them. And this is a topic for another post)

But I eat meat with pleasure, and I'm grateful for any food I eat.

affection-appreciation-art-424517.jpg

source

Thanks for reading my post! I'd like to know which of this topics you would like to read soon in my blog?

1. my agreement with insects
2. my version of alternative food chain for alternative planet Earth
3. motivating life stories
4. child-free

Please write in comments.

P.S.: sorry for my poor English :)

Sort:  

I love this! I have always felt that there is as much life in the plants as there is in the animals, so the argument of saving lives by not eating animals has never been valid in my mind.

When I see a lion kill a gazelle I feel bad for the gazelle, but the lion has to eat and feed his family. So if she didn't kill the gazelle I would feel bad that the lions starve!

It's a very complicated subject. Being a vegetarian limits a person to killing plants. But it is still killing. The same as the lion and the gazelle. They say you can even hear the plants scream when you harvest them :(

I totally agree with you, it is really complicated subject! And I often think about the nature of compassion, where did it come from when we always observed a cruel law of survival around?

Знаю что ты понимаешь по-русски :). Прекрасное открытие, еще одной прекрасной стороны твоего характера. С 1 января 2010 года сам нахожусь в эксперименте вегетарианства. Восемь лет, полёт нормальный. (В лом по-английски писать).

я сначала твой комментарий из другого поста прочитала, и увидев твои репосты уберфрау, на голосе решила переспросить на всякий случай) теперь уже не актуальный вопрос на голосе))
спасибо, что заметил мои посты здесь :) я тоже не очень хорошо по английски пишу, но здесь, как мне кажется, публика более дружелюбная, чем на голосе)
8 лет без мяса - это ты молодец! Уважаю!!!

О, да. В большинстве из миров публика более дружелюбная чем в своременной России.

Update :)
Well, now I need to follow my diet because my yoga teacher told me that for my type of body it is not recommended to eat the meat... so I have to be vegetarian now :D:D:D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48