That Moment You Realize Your Dreams Are Coming True

in #story7 years ago (edited)

As you can tell from my drastically reduced posting frequency, life has been a bit hectic lately. Thankfully, these days my hours are filled with incredible stuff. Almost each of my waking hours is occupied by thoughts or ideas about the HardFork film series. At times it feels like a total immersion in this futuristic world. Making a film is much more of an intense of a process than writing a novel. As our team is learning, building an entire world from scratch is both extremely fun and also very hard work.

For the first time since I was a boy I am beginning to feel glimpses of true freedom and security instead of constant worry and doubt when I think about the future. A couple of days ago, in the midst of busyness, I happened upon a rare moment where life stood still. It was though suddenly the pull of gravity became three times stronger and for a second my head swam.

I had just finished making flight and hotel arrangements for SteemFest2 in Lisbon. I chose a flight that connected in Paris when an overwhelming feeling of euphoria (or more accurately a "holy $h!t" moment) hit me. I realized another of my dreams had come true because of Steemit.

Granted, we’re only at the Paris airport for six hours. From what I’ve read, this is the absolute bare minimum needed to make a quick tour into the city. Even if my wife and I decide not to try our luck and do the power tour of the City of Light, at least we’ll see the Eiffel Tower from the plane.

For some people a six hour layover in Paris would be no cause for excitement, it would be just another day...I’m not one of those people. I didn't take my first flight until I was twenty-four. I'm someone who pursued being a successful author for so long without a break that even I began to believe it would never come true. Just a few years ago traveling to Europe was only a wish that may not have ever come to fruition. Before I found this platform I had nothing more than a loose vision of a dream, Steemit has brought it all into focus.

I never want to stop feeling the awe for all of this or the gratitude for all of you who've supported me. My time here on this blockchain has been a mind blowing journey. It’s been an honor to be part of history in the making. I feel the core HardFork team is challenging me in some wonderful ways and elevating me, by proxy, in the process. The intelligence, hard work, and dedication I’m seeing from the younger members of our Hardfork team make me feel more optimistic about our future in general.

Some very exciting things will be happening in this next year (some of them I can’t yet reveal.) Even though I’m not posting as often, I hope you stay with me for the ride. After a long span of dormancy, my dreams are coming true. I'm excited to share each and every one of my upcoming, "holy $h!t moments" with you. : )

With Gratitude,

(Gif compliments of Giphy.com)

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

alt text

My new book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, has been discounted to $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook) for a limited time. Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Fantastic post, Eric. I'm super excited to see where you guys take this series. Knowing you, I'm sure you'll give the whole thing your unique touch of "experienced expertise and gifted knowledge", making it into a sure-fire hit.

Looking forward greatly to it, sir. :)

Thank you, Ezzy! The team is already taking it to some amazing places. I've never worked with such a group of talented individuals in my life. Really appreciate your support, man!

Gratitude leads to abundance!

As I was reading your post, I realized that life is challenging for us because without all the ups and downs and obstacles, we could never have that "aha" moment of total euphoria and bliss without our past experiences and long journey. We would have no means of gauging the wonderful moment without the other times. If everything was easy the "aha" moment would be another day.

When you wrote that moment of total joy of the present and future, I thought of you when you were younger and going through some challenging times. Would you have believed it then how your life would become this amazing ride of joy, awesome new adventures, exciting people like yourself and a team of gifted and dedicated members who want a better future?

You've reached another milestone in your amazing life that I know you appreciate very much. Experience this wonderful feeling of optimism and love. Remember the feel and absorb every moment so that you can share the pure feelings of love, happiness, hope and gratitude through your writings, poems and stories. I am very happy for you and the team. It shows everyone that by working together, any thing is possible! Take care! .....Cabbagepatch :D

You are so spot on with your assessment of the lessons learned through struggle leading to bliss, @cabbagepatch. I've come to view "the downs" as where there is a kernel of something still to learn for me. By the same token I try to enjoy "the ups" as reward for learning the lesson's life tries to teach.

We have such high hopes for this project, deep down inside it feels as though the series is destined to be made and if it wasn't our team it would be another one.

Thanks so much for your words, sorry it's taking so long to respond these days but please know your comments are always appreciated! Take care and enjoy the long weekend!

Please don't worry about having to always comment back. I know how busy you are. But I do truly appreciate all the very kind and thoughtful comments you write. You are quite a unique and soothing essence that you bring a lot of peace and serenity to the reader. You do so much good that I hope the Universe gives back to you ten fold! Keep moving forward to your destiny! :D

Fantastic post! So thrilling to be a part of this incredibly creative and already immeasurably fulfilling journey with you Eric!

I was able to get back to this post as promised today, and left my updated comments there above.

Keep up the good work Doug!!!

Thank you, my friend! I can't even tell you what an honor it's been and so much fun! I'm trying to breathe and enjoy each moment because there will never be another "first film project" for me. : ) I really appreciate the fact that you reached out on 7/4.

Someone interviewed me recently here on steemit, and one of the questions was "who do you consider to be the 5 most influential steemit users." You were one of the people I listed because you have been an inspiration to me since I first joined a year ago. And it still continues! I am so happy for you and thank you!

Wow, what an honor @uniwhisp, thank you! I remember you from "way back" (in Steemit time). Congratulations on your one year milestone!

Thanks, Eric!

So many good updates!

I've been enjoying the hardfork series posts, and continue to be amazed at their quality.

I know this may be cliche, but it truly looks like the best is yet to come for you Eric. Blessings to you!

Amen Lydon, well said my man.

I like watching how life changing it is for the people directly involved, that is a constant theme of the updates!!

That is true! One step of change in each update.

Thank you so much, Lydon. The stuff that is being created now (but not yet shared) is blowing my mind. We all can't wait to share it with the community. It's really coming together now. : ) Blessings to you as well.

Love hearing the enthusiasm and true joy you're experiencing in life these days, cheers!

Thanks, Ruth. I wake up with my head full of ideas and my body full of energy these days. It's a great feeling!

Ah yes, so awesome, I love that! Makes me feel good just hearing it

My time here on this blockchain has been a mind blowing journey.

I know that feeling very well. It makes one feel very fortunate.

I hope this time I'll be able to shake hands with you at Steemfest 2.

All the best to you Eric, this hard fork series has me intrigued although I'm not sure yet what it is. But it's fun watching it unfold slowly.

I'm sure you can relate to that statement, @exyle! We will, for sure, have to have a beer together and chat this time. Thanks a lot, I really enjoy your work.

I guess that is what we all wish to attain. A hectic life but the stuff we are doing are things that we enjoy and bring us happiness.

Steemit has done so much for me. It has assisted me in paying my rent, gas and electricity. The main thing I want in life is financial security. Steemit helps but I hope one day it will be able to cover my expenses and I don't have to worry about constant bills.

This one burning passion of mine has lead me commenting as much as I can. I've also made a post everyday for over a month now and I try to keep them high quality

Well I wish you the best of luck with the Hardfork series @ericvancewalton

Thank you very much @arckrai and congrats on your journey to financial freedom. Your comments are always very thoughtful!

Paris, such a beautiful city! 6 hours is not a lot; I think the metro takes you in 30 minutes to the city centre, if you get the fast one. The slow one is 45 minutes. Sounds you are on an amazing tour in your life! Really cool to read such positive post on Steemit these days. I'm really happy for you! :)

Thank you! From what I'm hearing 6 hours is the bare minimum needed to venture into the city. Honestly, I'm not sure if we'll chance it. We're taking the red-eye from Minneapolis to Paris so the sleeping pods in the airport might be how we spend our layover.

Paris Airport is not that bad, good sandwiches at Paul's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25