The Real Reason Tattoos Are Addictive

in #story6 years ago (edited)


A Little Background

I got my first body art in 2016, about a month before the first SteemFest in Amsterdam. My first tattoo took four hours in the chair and is the Buddha holding a lotus (the Flower Sermon) on my left upper arm.

I got my second one in the spring of 2017, a mandala perched in the same position as my first one only on my right shoulder.

Both of these were barely visible and could be easily hidden by the sleeves of a t-shirt. I always told myself that when I was able to quit my corporate job I would have a full arm sleeve tattoo designed. Even though the corporate world was getting more relaxed on the surface there was still a strong undercurrent of “judginess” flowing just below the thin veneer of acceptance.

The Point of No Return

After I stepped away from my cubicle job in October of 2017 I took the plunge and called Greg, my tattoo artist, to schedule a time to get the full sleeve completed on my left arm. This new art is pretty intricate and even peeks out from the buttoned sleeve of a dress shirt. In short, there’s no hiding it, even if I wanted to.

Life presents us with an endless array of lessons. Since I got this last tattoo I’ve received a crash course to a whole new facet of human behavior...prejudice or, in my case I like to refer to it as “judginess”.

Blame It On Evolution

To be fair, from an evolutionary perspective, humans are wired to very quickly size up strangers to determine if they’re a friend or if they’ll do them harm. There was a time when survival was based on quick and accurate assumptions based on visual appearances. Unfortunately, some people still follow this formula. Their personal development stagnates at a certain point in their lives and they exist in a closed-minded bubble. This group never got the memo that normal, law-abiding, nice people have been getting body art for decades. Tattoos aren’t just for prisoners, gangsters, and social outcasts anymore.

Sometimes the judginess is subtle. When you have visible tattoos people assume you’re hip...even if you’re not. Younger people don’t call me Sir anymore (which I’m totally fine with), now it’s always “man”, "brother", or the shortened version “brah”.

This past weekend, while at a city park for a little Independence Day BBQ, a random stranger approached me and started talking. After a few seconds he began peppering “420” into the conversation. Eventually the light bulb came on for me and I told him I wasn’t interested, he then trailed off with “430, 440, 450” as if he suffered from some conversational tick. Really? No, just because I have visible tattoos doesn’t mean I’m in the market for a dime bag of weed.

Sometimes the judginess is more blatant. My wife and I recently moved into a new building occupied mostly by retired Baby Boomers. Last week I was taking our dog, Amstel, on a walk and met a woman, probably in her mid-sixties, in the building’s elevator lobby. We exchanged pleasantries and as I turned to enter the elevator she saw my tattoo and the dynamic instantly changed. She stopped talking in mid-sentence and actually ignored my attempt to continue the conversation.

This really bothered me for a few minutes but then I began to think about it from a different perspective.

Tattoos are like a filter for the @ssholish among us. They’re a trigger that forces these judgy people to reveal themselves much more quickly than they normally would. I no longer have to waste the precious time it previously took to sort this out. Could this be the real reason tattoos are addictive?

Have a great weekend everyone!

Yours in the Chain,

Eric

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)

Please follow our official Steemit account for the film series @hardfork-series. Did you miss our last post? If so CLICK HERE to read it!

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.
My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Connect with Me

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Haha awesome! A built in @sshole detector?! I gotta get some ink stat!

: ) . It's very useful! Maybe you can take the plunge while you're here in August?

On the one hand you are right, in that formerly the environment in companies was much stronger and more demanding than it is now in these times, which are more permissive when it comes to this kind of thing. I think it's a matter of tradition or prejudice, I have my tunnels ears and previously a piercing in the tongue. Sometimes they treated me as if I were a kind of skater or a person addicted to parties, which was no longer a novelty. Many times we ignore this type of detail, but when we see that the deal is different, or people "exclude" us from groups, it becomes an annoyance and I find it in very bad taste for anyone.

The tattoos are great and very artistic, more than anything if the tattooist has enough experience and you already know him, I am sure that these will not be the last ones you will have!

Thank you @gustavoadolfodca! Some people definitely make assumptions based on appearances. I already have my next piece designed for my right forearm but it might be a long while before I get it done.

I am an older grey haired woman with four grown sons and 7 grandchildren. I have also travelled extensively and have been exposed to many different cultures and religions from an early age. I would like to think I am open-minded and accepting of everything. I remember when my son wanted a tattoo at 16, the only thing I said was to go to a good artist, which he did. There are so many more important things in life to get hung up on besides whether or not they have a sleeve. I see the person as a whole, for who they are inside.

It's so great to be open-minded, my parents are both of that mindset. Traveling definitely does help be more accepting and empathetic. We need more people like you @cecicastor!

Thank you @ericvancewalton! There are few things that get my goat and it usually when someone being really stupid. Not patience for stupidity...

Your tattoos look beautiful beloved friend @ericvancewalton, a true work of art, I regret that there are people who misunderstand and relate to the marihuana.
congratulations for the power of desicion that you have.
I wish you a wonderful weekend

@ericvancewalton, I know why you already embossed your left upper arm of Buddhism art. You seriously believe about Buddha relief and definitely follow it. It's impressive long tattoo work and I appreciate you were trust Buddha teachings.

Simply that's amazing words will fall short to describe but tattoos are really addictive :D

It is not only evolution to blame for prejudice. It is social conditioning against certain groups, concepts or even everything that is not familiar to them. People usually dislike those how are courageous enough to be free as they themselves don't have the nerve to decide for themselves so why somebody else would?

On the other hand, I guess it is not the tattoos that are addictive, but the sense of control of one's body and the open declaration of it that might be addictive.

Life give us many lessons on every time . Like your article on judging and tatoos are also very nice. Do You feel any side affect of these tattoos ?

I like your first body art with buddha and 🕉️ it's awesome tatoo

Well yes in some cases some people might not take it the right way while some will take it a cool thing but the thing that you liked is the real thing about the tattoo !

They do look really beautiful I must say 'brah' ;)

Thanks, Brah! ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68