IMPROMPTU HAIKU 5 (Reader Participation Encouraged + Book Giveaway)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

This is the fifth installment of Impromptu Haiku. Each time I post this Impromptu Haiku I’m amazed by your creativity. I usually spend a good portion of the next day reading through your creations.

I’ve discovered that the act of writing haiku is a highly effective way to keep your skill-set sharp. Creating haiku regularly totally crushes the effects of writer’s block by opening up new channels of creativity.



Incase you've never heard the term haiku or have been out of school for a very long time (like I have) and the memories are hazy...the definition of Haiku is as follows:

Haiku is a very short form of Japanese poetry. Traditional haiku consist of 17 total syllables, in three lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables respectively.

This post is meant be highly interactive. I encourage you to write your own haiku in the comments below (first line should be 5 syllables, second line 7 syllables, third line 5 syllables)

Here’s mine:

Pi Lo Chun steeping

leaves turning water bright green,

magic to the tongue.

Now try yours in the comments below!

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


One participant will be chosen at random to receive a free autographed copy of my book on writing, One Word At A Time, Finding Your Way as an Indie Author. Included in this book are over twenty years of lessons I’ve learned as a writer (most of them, the hard way). I’m happy to be able to share it with you.

Please visit my website to sign up for my author newsletter. My newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates on new book releases and other special offers.

Sort:  

It's getting late now
I should be snug in my bed
Steemit, damn Siren!

My time is well spent
Watching abstract forms float down
Searching for the earth

Turning always towards
The new, bold, and colorful
Kaleidoscope Soul

or....(if you're counting towards as 2 syllables therefore eliminating the above as Haiku)

Kaleidoscope Soul
Always turning towards true
Prism eternal

Pa-ka-lo-lo Gold
Flowers and crystals bursting
I need to smoke one

Oh, a lovers heart
beats a passionate rhythm.
Save the lovers heart.

There is home where
You will happily live
Life is easy.

Newborn arrival
Nocturnal nights, bloodshot eyes
Daytime naps, cuddled

In tribute to my newborn son Marcello. :) Parenthood is a beautiful thing
Thanks for giving another mini contest
Nice haiku, simplicity is strong with flavorful taste like the best teas

opening window
fresh air gently breathes in
she covers with me

Here's my haiku contribution:
Daylight wanes again
Fading into brisk, cold nights
Solace in the dark

Weary heat torpor
Fans tick tick so lazily
Coquettish breeze flirts

(just for fun:))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10