A homeless who inherited a house

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I've seen this homeless guy for thousand times and in different locations in the city. Always digging in dumpsters looking for empty plastic bottles. We have developed program of returning plastic bottles so poor people are looking for them everywhere, trying to earn some change money. When he doesn't collect plastic bottles, he sits on the bench and drinks beer. He really looks like life destroyed him, but I can't say anything or judge to him, since I know nothing about him and how he found himself in this situation.

So I see this guy every day for many years and I never thought that one day he will knock at the door of my office.

That's exactly what happened a month ago! When my boss saw him, he said that we are not social workers. But the drunk told us that he has a job for us. He told us that his uncle died and his only heirs are this homeless guy and his brother. The uncle left a big house behind and this guy was afraid that his brother will take all.
He told us shortly how his brother cheated their parents to sign the contract that they leave all their properties to him. So, when the parents died, the evil brother kicked our potential client out of his family home. That's why he decided to hire us to define which part of their uncle's house will belong to him.

The guy was followed by smell of alcohol and my boss didn't believe to him.

So he told him that he can't pay us. Homeless dude said that, when he solves this situation with his uncle's house, he will sell his own part, pay us and buy some smaller flat.

My boss chased him out and when the homeless guy left our office, my boss felt guilty conscience.

He didn't tell me, but I noticed, so I asked him if I can make few phone calls about the case. I had some extra time, so my boss allowed me to do that.

One phone call and I found out in what notary office legacy discussion will be held.

So I called that office and, luckily, a girl I knew in the past works there. She told me more information about the case and that the uncle left the ground floor of house left to the homeless guy. I asked her to inform me when legacy discussion will be held, because our homeless hero doesn't have a phone or address. This is a bad situation and his evil brother can use that to get the whole house.

I was going home from my work that day and saw this homeless dude and told him that I took his case - for free. He told me that he owes me a box of beer.

Few days later, more specific on last week, the girl from notary office called me and told me that the legacy discussion will be held on September 5th.

I went down to the street to find the homeless. But he wasn't there where I usually see him! So I checked all dumpsters in this neighborhood and all places where empty plastic bottles can be found.

And I couldn't find him!

I was afraid that something happened to him! Or his evil brother did something! However, I have two weeks to find him. And he is not on his usual stations!

He just disappeared. I wasn't able to find him next few days, so I decided to let it be.

Yesterday I sent to a supermarket and I drove my car into garage. And there I first smelled something bad in the air and then I saw him! With large plastic bag full of empty bottles, sleeping on the concrete wall. Of course that he found his place in the shade, since it was 36°C outside!

He was so happy when I told him the information! He told me that he didn't forget the box of beer! But I will, for sure!

Sort:  

the evil brother must be heartless, because that is jacked up. I will buy you the beer my friend. I appreciate you doing your part my friend, much love from @runridefly

so sad story, I guess it happen all the times when people become greedy.

This is world-class material.

Well researched.

This is impressive stuff.

You've got serious skills.

This is exactly what I needed.

You've made it look effortless.

I can't stop watching/reading/listening.

This is a masterpiece.

I hope it will have happy end

This is truly remarkable.

This is truly remarkable.

You've got a bright future ahead.

You've got serious talent.

This is just perfect!

Nice post!

I was going home from my work that day and saw this homeless dude and told him that I took his case - for free. He told me that he owes me a box of beers.

I commend you for this generous act. They say karma comes back to you in some form. In any case you will have a box of beer!

Thanks, but I did nothing but a few phone calls

I wish there were more people like you. We should all try to help people worse off than ourselves.. It makes for a better world.

Not everybody has chance to help others! Honestly, I did nothing but few calls

Good for him. You the man

That's quite a story

I am like a magnet for this kind of cases and people. Thanks

I have noticed.

This is a good story that may have a happy ending.

We'll see! If bum won't sell all and drink all, yes, it could have happy ending

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34