Facebook just suggested a friend to me. It was a person I had interacted with in real life for the first time ever less than an hour before.

in #story6 years ago

I was out watching a baseball game my nephew was playing in today. It had been forever since I had watched a little league game. When I was a kid people were always yelling "aye batter batter, swing batter!" when I was a kid and in little league. Ignoring it was part of the game for me back then. Times have changed, I said "swing" one time from behind home plate and the referee informed me that saying things like that is illegal and it will get me ejected from the game. He gave me one pass. I watched the rest of the game and left thinking, what has the world come to. Then something even more egregious happened.

I made it home, and I checked my Facebook notifications and I was flipping through. Once I scrolled down and came upon the suggested friends section the very first suggestion was the umpire I had just seen at my nephews baseball game. That all happened in less than an hour. That is a powerful algorithm.

I never remember giving Facebook permission to access my location and they surely must have used it in order to suggest this person as a friend. My phone setting say Facebook is not allowed to access my location. So I am at a loss as to what I can do. I await the day we can have a more private, more secure, and less evasive social media that is ran on blockchain technology.


Video from TheStreet: Investing Strategies

As it is I will survive using Facebook to keep in touch with my real life friends. Then using Steemit to post content and comment on the subjects I care about. At a place where I can be rewarded for contributing publicly. The wild wild west of social media, where posts can be the ads.. and the people making the money from the advertising are the investors.


Woot woot,

@drpuffnstuff

Sort:  

It is bad for privacy in there are times when roundhere googles something on his computer and then I get ads for it on mine. must be the IP.

Go to bed

Ya, that's a case of the IP or the browser cookies. Whatever Facebook does, Google is already masters at I'm sure. It's just less obvious because it lacks the social media aspect though I think. I went through and tried to edit all my privacies better, and I have been using the brave browser which I have liked a lot as far as ads and etc go..

Its all about cookies, try to search something in incognito mode on browser and you will not get any ads related to that on facebook

Not that facebook is above some creepy location tracking stuff but its possible the other person looked you up and FB turned that into a suggestion for you!!

That's Minority Report level AI there! Very scary. I don't use FB on my phone, but I do have it. From your experience and the ones I've been hearing about, along with the Capitol Hill vs. Zuckerberg circus going on now, I just need to get rid of it.

The Wild Wild West of Social Media is right. :)

It's the only medium between me having all the phone numbers of all the people I know in real life, and them having mine lol. I don't post on there hardly ever, just use messenger to keep in touch. I feel forced to but I know I have the choice. It's just where everyone else is, and I guess I am a sheep like the rest of them lol baaaah!

Yeah, but that will change. I suppose part of it will hinge on what ultimately comes from the Zuckerberg hearing, whether the Congress charges him and Facebook with anything like negligence or something (not holding out hope that they will, since in large part most of this is just for show), but the more people are aware that this kind of thing is happening, the more they will start moving away from it. Eventually, the straw that broke the monolithic over reaching data mining corporation's back will appear, and by then it will be too late because the replacement or replacements will already be there to welcome everyone in.

Hopefully, that's Steemit, but it needs to put its own house in order first.

It's pretty crazy how they do that. I usually only get friend suggestions that are in my email, contacts or call me on the phone and I don't enter them in my contacts. But I would say the bigger issue is what happened at the baseball game lol. I was in little league the same year the Original Bad News Bears came out and I would say that movie is a realistic depiction of my experience. We are living in bizarre times for sure.

They said it was because the parents, not the kids. The parents were getting into altercations over other people yelling and that's the way they decided to handle it I guess.. my one yell worked though, for the record lol.

That's just creepy. There've been countless times when my wife and i talk about a product or company and then we see ads for them on our Facebook. Almost as if it's eavesdropping.

At least with Google it only does that based on your search history which is more manageable.

I watched Zuckerberg vehemently deny that Facebook is capable of the exact thing you said while he was on Capital Hill. I have had basically the same thing happen to me several times though. I am more willing to trust my own experiences and the experiences of the people around me, than the words of the Facebook CEO in front of our politicians though haha!

Indeed, better to trust what we see with our own eyes than the words of a CEO talking about his company.

WOW, @drpuffnstuff I guess I have missed the NEW Little League too. I always thought you could egg on the Batter with Hey Batter Batter SWING. I guess in the New ERA of the Snow Flake and Everyone gets a Trophy we have lost what Little League Baseball was about for the Real Kids growing Up.................

Its true. I was shocked. Are they going to ban balloons from basket ball games so they can't wave them behind the backboard during free throws. Make games as silent golf. It really made me fear for the future a little bit. Everyone is so thin skinned, they all already got their trophies for losing it seems, and now they are raising kids.

...my account was hacked last night and the bot created a phishing site link here in the comments from my account ... the link is now removed... Today I got my account back.. sorry about that :( :( :( thanks.

I used to get this all the time, people I'd come into contact with at work would appear on my suggested friends list; creepy.

The problem is not Facebook, you have Messenger, WhatsApp and Instragram and one of the them probably has access to your location (probably Messenger) but you still need to have gps on i believe.
Thanks for sharing

I only have messenger and I went on and made sure it didnt have access to my location from my phone app settings. It did not have access. Its something though, Im just not sure what. maps is the only thing I gave access to my location for I feel like.

Maybe they are getting the location from your internet and ip probably, is pretty scared and amazing at the same time

I had a weird experience on here a few months back, I did a post about Thailand, and locations Jomtien, Pattaya and Bangkok, within 1 hour I had a booking.com offer naming all four locations, and the last 15 to 20 holidays I have booked on that site have all been European. So it made no sense. I did write a post about it months ago, very strange world we have now..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00