How The Allies of Old began: BORN Chapter Four "Not a Happy Ending"

in #story6 years ago


Reborn cover by paul.jpg


Painting in Acrylic by @therealpaul



Chapter 1 Chapter 2 Chapter 3

For those of you who missed the post of the release, I briefly explained how the series began as an idea for a Young Adult novel, and that I had in fact written what amounts to a novella taking place the summer before REBORN begins, and I decided to release it here on steemit.

The first few chapters of the novella were moved over into the final version, so for those of you who have already read, or are currently reading the novel it has been a repeat so far-- but that changes at the end of this chapter



BORN





Chapter Four


Anna watched as Austin leapt off the last couple of steps feeling a sudden wave of dizziness. She had drunk the equivalent of two beers in ten minutes and the alcohol chose that moment to dive-bomb her head. She sat on a chair trying to get a hold of her runaway emotions. Come on light weight, she scolded, you've only had four beers total. But she knew that wasn't really it.

Jenna and Marina sat down next to her. "He made a bet about you," Jenna said quietly.

She looked at her questioningly.

"Leo bet his friends he'd have you either tonight or by the end of the week, and when I say have you I mean have you."

Anna snorted. That would most definitely not have happened. As flattered as she initially was from his interest, within a few minutes of listening to him talk she knew he was not for her. Which was partially why she was upset, it was frustrating to not be able to give in to just a little bit of crushing. What would be the big deal if she made out with a guy that she knew was not in her future?

She winced, realizing she had just shouted at her knight in shining armor. "How did he find out?" she asked sheepishly.

"I guess Leo's pretty famous for making bets like that, so when he saw him with you...well he made the asshole’s friends 'fess up." Jenna patted her arm then gave her an earnest look. "I know that we can't force our feelings, but seriously Anna, you might want to consider it. He looked extremely hot taking Rodney down."

"Yeah he did," Marina agreed, "manly."

Anna smiled a little. "I know, he looked pretty hot taking out Leo too.” Her smile faded and she blew out a puff of air in frustration. “I don't know. We've been friends for so long and if we don't make it as a couple our friendship will probably be over...and that just sucks."

"I hate to break it to you, but I have a feeling your friendship will end eventually anyway," Jenna told her.

"Why?"

“Come on Anna, you can’t actually still doubt he has feelings for you, and it’s just a matter of time before he confesses them. Once he does you're either going to have to give the relationship thing a try....or he's going to let you go. Don't ask how I know, I can just....see it."

Anna didn’t question further, her friend had an uncanny way of knowing things like that. It was she who had first pointed out the way Austin looked at her and while he covered it well with humor Jenna’s conviction had kept her from complete denial. "Okay, understood, but I can't think about it right now. I want to drink some more, and have some fun. Beer pong partner?"

Jenna nodded and as they set up their cups Anna heard the sound of a motor and turned to watch Macey pull the boat into the hoist. The sun was setting and she could just make out her friend waving up to them through the glare. She waved back and scanned the beach locating Austin who was lounging in the center of a crowd of people. She could tell they were talking about the fight from his repeated slaps on the back.

A girl from her class, Gina Rollins, sidled up to him and Anna stiffened as she looped an arm through Austin’s, leaning up to whisper in his ear. He smiled at whatever stupid thing she was saying and Anna felt her very own first taste of jealousy. Suddenly she realized it had been a long time since she'd seen him with a girl who was not among her friends. And she definitely didn't like it.

"Anna, get your head in the game!" Jenna waved a hand in front of her face and she forced her attention back to the table, but her gaze kept getting pulled back to Gina's form draped all over Austin.

They lost the game, big surprise, and she continued watching the beach. The fact that she didn’t like the shallow little backstabbing beotch was not helping. "Who invited her," She mumbled irritably.

Jenna followed her gaze. "Smart boy."

"What?"

"You heard me. A little taste of your own medicine. Now I suggest, since the game is over..." she paused to let the double meaning sink in, "you go down there and stake your claim."

Anna hesitated then took a deep breath before heading down the stairs to change her life. Dramatic, yes, but that's how it felt.

She made her way over to where Austin was seated and nearly lost her nerve as she stopped in front of the campfire. The disgusting girl (pretty, yes she was pretty, but only on the outside) was in his lap and a shockingly territorial feeling welled up within her. She sucked in a breath when he glanced up at her, noticing how good-looking he was by firelight. She mouthed “I’m sorry” and he nodded briefly before returning his attention to the kid sitting next to him. Damn. He was going to make her work for it.

She sat down on the rocks and picked up a stick to poke at the fire trying not to overreact to the sight of Gina rubbing her leg up and down on Austin's. She imagined the stick growing cherry red and “accidentally” touching that leg.

"So Anna," Gina spoke up in her fake sweet voice, "how did it feel to be the object of Leo's bet you poor thing."

Anna rolled her eyes. "Since there is no possible way he would have won that bet despite what little faith some of my friends seem to have in me, ‘poor thing’ is a little much."

"Oh come on," Gina pressed, "tell me you weren't eating right out of his hand before this guy," she patted Austin's leg, "saved the day."

"Hmm, let's see…halfway between ‘Last week I got so drunk I puked in my neighbor's bird bath’ -and-‘I got some wicked stuff last night, I couldn't even tie my shoes I was so zooted’- I pretty much decided his looks can only make up for so much. So, that would be a No, no hand-eating for me."

She snuck a look at Austin and though he was still talking to the guy next to him she could tell he was paying attention. Dropping the stick in the fire, she pulled herself to her feet. "Can I talk to you?" Please don't say no, please don't…

He didn't answer right away, and she felt her stomach tighten. "Austin," she said quietly. "Please."

He lightly pushed Gina, who pouted but got to her feet.

"I'll keep your seat warm," she told him and he favored her with a charming smile before following Anna down the beach.

Anna kept her focus straight ahead as she strode past the potty, hating how much that smile had bothered her. Okay bothered her was too mild, pissed her the hell off was more like it, which was completely unreasonable, especially after she’d ditched him for Leo. She pushed her way around the large bush that hung out over the lake, and stopped at the crumbling stone fort. No one at the party had discovered it yet for which she was exceedingly grateful.

"So what is it?" He asked from behind her.

Suddenly she had no idea what to say. What if she’d misread things? What if he was just mad because she’d yelled at him for defending her? And so what if Jenna was usually right about these matters-usually wasn’t the same as always.

“So did you just bring me over here to gaze at the fort?” Austin gripped her arm and turned her around to face him.

She searched his eyes which were narrowed in anger. “I’m sorry,” she said softly.

“Yeah, you said that already. So is that it, you need my forgiveness?” His eyes glittered as his lip curved in a mocking smile. “No problem, I forgive you. So now if you’ll excuse me I think I’ll go retrieve my seat.” He turned to leave and she made a sound of distress bringing him back around.

“What Goddamn it, what is it?” He demanded.

She stared at him wordlessly. He’d been annoyed at her plenty of times before but never in the four years of their friendship had he ever raised his voice to her. Tell him you want to be with him, an inner voice urged. Tell him now before he walks away! She desperately wanted to take the voice’s advice but couldn’t seem to force the words past her lips.

“Fuck,” he said on an exhalation, “I don’t need this.” He turned and this time she kept her mouth shut as she watched him make his way back around the bush.



Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn HERE-

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=linnet+mclaughlin


COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Sort:  

glad I am not a teenager , but don't think I would want to be her at the minute x

Oh Austin. I remember when I was flipflopping about him haha Simpler times! Can I please let him know what he's in for so he has a chance to run away?

No one flip flopped on Austin as much as Anna did, haha!

Ah shoot you're right!! Anna really strung him along, didn't she? I guess that was an earlier criticism I had of Anna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89