The Witch That I Called Mother

in #story5 years ago

image

It was on a hot sunny day when my parents were burnt to ashes inside our hut. I couldn't bear living as an orphan with no good relatives.
My relatives were not in good terms when my parents died and I had no place to go after the incident so I went to our yam ban to dwell for the time being.
One morning when I woke up for a new day to survive, a woman came from a near city, claiming to be my father's long time business partner which I never knew. I had nobody to ask if at all they know her or have seen her before with my parents anywhere.
She started telling me how she can be of help to my condition and that I need urgent help for I've no place to stay, no food, no money, no trustable relatives, no real friends because I was a kid.
She made all the attractable promises just to get me on her side. Who am I to say no in such condition.
I swallowed my little pride and followed her to her home where she promised to take care of me if I become her house help/maid.
When we got to her house, I saw a lot of goodies and things that I've never seen before. I really saw a lot on my first day.
She showed me things that I can touch and things that I should never attempt to touch. No offense ma'am. I'll obey all rules and regulations guiding this house so long as your promises are met.
After about 7 months in her house, me that used to be treated as "a son of my friend" is now "the stupid wicked boy". I no more have access to what I used to use before. I'm now a slave in my father's land. No problems.
After 9 years, she now started getting more richer and richer without anybody knowing her sources of wealth.
But one thing keeps ringing on my mind. Every morning and evening, she use to command me and other maids to come and bow to her and call her all sorts of goddess names and she'll be shouting "Yes" as many times as possible.
I went back to the place where I was sleeping, I started calculating how many years that I've spent in her house without a single achievement, nothing, not even a single recognition by people as a living being. I look like a piece of rag in people's eyes. Valueless
While I was making assessment of myself, I looked at others who have been here years before I came, theirs are nothing to write home about..
Does it mean that she's using our destiny for hers?
The next day, I managed to escape from her house in search of solution. I went to a native doctor and he chased me away that I have a stronger demonic spirit.
I ran to a seer's house and she shouted at me, telling me that my destiny has been stolen.
I ran to the herbalist for cure and he told me that it's incurable.
What have I done to myself?
Oh! It's the witch that I called mother
To be continued........
#fiction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30