[Spotlight Contest + School Life] Words of Appreciation and Happiness

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Friends of the Steemit Community Worldwide

I am thankful

for the opportunity to be a participant of SPOTLIGHT ENTERTAINMENT CONTEST #2 sponsored by @Adsactly and @Picokernel and is organized by @spotlight.

thank you spotlight.jpg

In the same manner, I am grateful for the overwhelming support I received from you all Steemit friends! The experience I had as participant was amazing! During the event, it was fun to interact with the community worked with all of you who supported down to the last minute.

To my music partner, @haleyaerith, who almost strained her voice practicing with me for many hours, my BIG thank you! It was a stormy day when we recorded the presentation: streets were flooded up until the knee in some areas of the city; the regular flow of public transportation was disrupted, sky was grey and heavy and it was windy and rainy. Yet, we proceeded anyway!

Playing the piano always makes me happy. And having to play the piece entitled Easy Winners by Scott Joplin for you all feels awesome.

This reminds me of another individual whom I met in my readings as a requirement in my English class. He talked about happiness.

Reflection

So I want to share with you a reaction paper I wrote as a requirement in school about Sam Berns. He had progeria, which means there is an abnormal protein that weakens the cell structure of his body.

He talked about his three philosophies that he also used to have a happy life even though he had problems caused by progeria.

sam-berns.jpg

Source

After watching his video on youtube, I was inspired by his story. I learned that one of the ways to be happy even though there are a lot of problems around me is, firstly, I should focus on the things I can do instead of feeling bad of what I ultimately cannot do. In this way, I can be more positive and focus in developing what I can do.

Secondly, I should be with people who are supportive and positively influence me because if I surround myself with negative people I, myself may think the way they do and may affect my performance in doing my tasks. Thirdly, when I make a mistake or I have a problem, I should not wallow in it; instead, I should keep moving forward because life just goes on. I think it’s better to move forward and make a mistake than to stay in the same place and make no progress.

His Philosophies


“Be okay with what you ultimately can’t do because there is so much you can do.” This is Sam Berns’ first philosophy. I agree, and I think it is a message to individuals who think low about themselves just because of the things they cannot do. Instead, they should focus on matters that can be done so that they will realize how much they actually can do.

“Surround yourself with people you want to be with.”This is his second philosophy. I agree and I think being around people whom I want to be with and who are a positive influence can make me happy such as my parents and friends. They support me by way of encouragement through wise advice and uplifting words.

“Keep moving forward,” is his third philosophy. I think this philosophy can be incorporated in a lot of aspects in life such as dealing with a depression, people who got disabled after an accident or was born with a disability. One can feel bad for himself or herself and may become stuck in being sad. And just like what Sam Burns says that he doesn’t waste energy on feeling bad about himself; instead, he acknowledges his feelings or problems and does what he needs to do to get passed it. I think that is what I should do as well. During times that I feel lazy to do school works, I must force myself to do it and keep progressing.

Finally, if I constantly practice these three philosophies, I can have a happy life and inspire others as well.


Sort:  

aww you're welcome, but most thank you to you because you showed us your amazing talent and entertained people. ^^ You did great! 🤗

great tandem @haleyaerith/@craftech! not the storm nor the flood stopped you from pushing thru! From gloom to shine! 🌞🌻

Congratulations on winning the contest @craftech! you were awesome. I hope you guys collaborate more in the future, you were a great team.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @craftech to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Great work! Congratulations on winning the contest. Keep on growing as an artist.

Thank you @bonlabora!

C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S !!!

Wow Congrats buddy! enjoy the rewards :)

Thank you @julstamban!

Thanks for sharing. :)

Congratulations my friend. I am happy to know you.

Congrats and nice reflection. :)

Thanks @zararina!

Congrats my man :) I'm happy for you! I know a few people who went out of their way for this.

Go post your link in my Post Promotion Thread :) It's the latest post. Enjoy.

thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19