A Lesson from a Prosperity Preacher

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I See Changes

I live next to a church. I would tell you the name of the church except that I don't know. When I first moved here, the name of the church was The Great Gospel Church. Since then, it has changed to The Solution Ground, The Devil is a Liar, Glory to Glory, Heaven on Earth and so on. The above are just the names I can recall off the top of my head. You're thinking
4723446459_217fa73991.jpg
source

It is not true

But really, it is. At least it is true from my window, because from there I could see a new sign post with a new name every other day. It is really none of my business but I had to take notice of the changes for a personal reason.


You see, I live in Nigeria. It doesn't matter if you think we are the most populous nation in Africa, the most educated group of people in the US, the world capital of scammers or you're one of those people who think it is a city in the country of Africa :). I mentioned this for a reason that will become clear as we proceed. Even though I live in a city, the street numbering system in my area could take you a whole day to figure out and you won't still be able to do it.
images (28).jpg
source


So landmarks is the way to go. When I have a friend coming over to my new place, I usually just say, stop at The Great Gospel Church* and as you can imagine the poor guy would pass my house because I didn't get the name of the church right. And I would get pissed at him for driving past the very big billboard with the name of the church written on it. How could I have known they changed the name? Well that doesn't happen anymore. I just use a nearby school as a landmark. So what's the lesson in this? I can't think of any but I will be glad if you could suggest one.


Obviously the ongoing is not what I planned to share with you beautiful people. What I had set out to share was something that just occurred to me about the pastor or preacher in this my neighbourhood church.

Money. Money. Money.

This is not to suggest that they sing ABBA in the church all day long but they might as well do. What I mean is that all the preacher talks about is money. Don't get me wrong, I'm not criticising him. In fact, I admire his work ethic and dedication. This morning, he was praying for his congregation and he kept repeating, "Money into your bank account!" to which the congregation responded with a resounding "Amen".


I was in my bedroom, minding my business but I couldn't help but think that any person in that church without a bank account right now would be feeling so cheated since he or she did not even have the receptacle for the blessing that has been bestowed upon them. So lesson number one,open a bank account. Just kidding. That's not the lesson either.


On a more serious note, I have noticed increased number in the congregation. And if the make and size of cars the members drive are anything to go by, then I can say with some level of certainty that the money which he has been commanding into their accounts is somehow finding its way to their accounts. I say this because over a period of one year, they have changed from driving Toyota camries and avalons to driving Mercedes-Benz ML 350 AMG, Toyota venza, range rover sports and I even spotted a Rolls once. You're thinking I'm quite the nosy neighbour but how do you avoid noticing it when people block your gate with cars, all of them the size of a bus?


It doesn't matter if you're a Christian or Muslim, Buddhist or Hinduist, Satanist or traditionalist, theist or atheist, free-thinker or sceptic (sorry I can't cover all the beliefs out there), you will agree with me that every action that was ever taken began with a thought. Without thoughts, no action is possible. Therefore actions are results of thoughts. If we accept these as true, then we have to agree that

Thoughts objectify themselves.

As you keep thinking the same thoughts, it brings about the same actions, therefore

Whatever you dwell upon grows

If we agree to these, then we must agree that we can be, have and do everything we want if we can discipline our minds to

think

and

talk

only about the things we want in our lives and refuse to think or talk about the things we do not want in our lives. That is the lesson!

So go on and command that money into your bank account and refuse to talk about that rent that is almost due.

Enjoy the rest of your day!


Your boy Kels
@churchboy

IMG_20171103_150136.jpg

Sort:  

I like the way you write. Thank you for sharing this.

I'm glad you like it. Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85