You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Originality Dead In Mainstream Movies?

in #story7 years ago

Very well written. Thanks! You're absolutely right. When I was in college about 15 years ago, I used to go to the movies by myself all the time. This was because I loved movies. I could see a matinee in a comfortable theater setting for like 3 or 4 dollars. I saw all the movies.

Now today: Movies basically suck. They are crafted with one purpose: To be equally pleasing to every member of the family. There are no more unique and original stories. Everything is a cross-genre blockbuster.

I think this is just the natural progression. I don't like it, but I'm anxious to see what the next generation of stories look like. We're starting to get an idea, with kid's films like Frozen, Zootopia, Minions, Moana, etc.

As I'm sure you know, @ezzy, stories are an ever-changing representation of culture. And with the way cultures have been evolving all over the world, it's time for some fresh stories. I can't wait until movies are good again ;)

Thanks for your awesome post.

Sort:  

Hey @chrisroberts! I love your feedback! It seems like you're on the same page, you and I. Although as you mentioned about the new generation of movies, it will be very interesting to see the direction it takes. I mean, maybe movies have always just replicated each other's genres. I still can't help but feel that through the 70s, 80s and 90s, we broke new ground in so many ways. I can't see it nowadays, apart from obvious technological advancements.

Thank you again, buddy! :)

You made my day with your comment @chrisroberts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65317.17
ETH 2646.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86