My Nearest Suicide Experience - True Story

in #story5 years ago (edited)

In 2009, I was serving the university community as a volunteer firefighter in parallel with my studies. My guard began that Saturday doing daily activities in the station during the day, at night we attended a service with a rather complicated psychiatric patient that had left me exhausted and eager to pass the hours quickly to deliver my guard on Sunday morning.

A few minutes before the end of the day the alarm sounded indicating an emergency, I ran to the ambulance as usual, without having further details regarding the service. Only the driver and I would attend this emergency, he was a lieutenant quite bad tempered, so we did not get along well, the road became very long and silent despite the sirens, I was anxious to get there and give my help to that person who was in mortal danger.

Upon arriving at the scene I see with astonishment a police commission that gave me clues that a criminal act had occurred, we present ourselves before them to request what in military jargon we call the part, they tell us that there was nothing to do there and that we better withdraw, that was not an answer for me, my ethics told me that I could not stand idly by, I should go further to know the details of what happened.

I asked the lieutenant if we could enter the scene for details of the event, he hunched over his shoulders and ironically told me that I was the boss, he set aside to smoke a cigarette and left me on my own, I was distant but observant to all my actions, as if evaluating me.

On the garden floor lay the body of a mature woman, as I approached her I could see that she had positive signs of death: livor mortis, algor mortis, and rigor mortis. Her tongue was out of her mouth, her open eyes began to form a white layer, evidently lifeless. Her husband took me by the arm and asked me to please do something for her, to do everything possible to save her, her only hope was in me and I could not refuse.

I followed the protocol to look for vital signs: distal pulse, proximal pulse, breathing and pupillary reflex, obviously without favourable results. I told the relatives that I did not find any vital signs that we should be strong and let her go, I moved away from that painful scene and gave them space to express their feelings. Her daughters cried inconsolably asking, "Mom, why did you do it?

I was so shocked and confused that I still did not know exactly what had happened, I asked the neighbors who were in the place and as I was informed the lady was suffering from depression, was medicated and lived with her family in apparent harmony, that morning she asked her daughter to go to the refrigerator to look for ice cream, taking advantage of that moment went to the balcony of her penthouse located on the ninth floor and jumped into the void, dying instantly.

I felt very emotionally affected, I could not avoid empathizing with that family and their pain, I asked the lieutenant if it was time for us to retire and he very sharply told me: Are you finished? To which I replied that my work there was finished, we set out on our way back to the station with our ambulance empty and without a word.

By the time I got back my guard shift was over, I returned home with great sadness, I would have wanted to do more for her, nothing would have made me happier than to save her but in the end she succeeded in her task, to end her earthly life. It reminded me of the psychiatric patient the night before and I came to the conclusion that diseases of the mind can be more destructive than those of the body.



Source of external resources:
Images courtesy of ambulance, cross of life, crime scene and and building.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.ventanamagica.site/english-articles/my-nearest-suicide-experience-true-story/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Breili from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75