Hour Of Value - Mentorship story

in #story-mentor6 years ago

In the early hours of a Sunday morning at about 1:00am, I was sitting idly at the hospital hallway having just finished a sports illustrated Magazine from cover to cover. "I needed something better to read" I thought to myself, "why didn't I bring a book?" I asked.
IMG_20180228_015115_661.JPG Image source

As I sat quietly with my eyes closed, I could hear the mummuring plea of voices coming from the room beside me "Is my grandson here? Oh please, let him in. You’ve kept him waiting long enough! “Please, please… nurse, bring him to me.”

Few minutes later, the nurse rushed out from the room and was extremely shocked to see me waiting in the hall. "Oh you are here", she said. "I'm sorry", she continued. "I'm the nurse that has been taking care of your grandmother for the past 3 days now. She had insisted you would come visit her last night but the contact she gave us to reach you wasn't reachable. She had begged I look for you all through the hallways but to no avail. And then when she said you would come again this evening, I just assumed her dementia was getting the best of her.”

"Well, I...." I tried to speak but was interrupted by the nurse "I'm really glad you are here. I think she has been holding a little longer just to see you. It's actually a miracle she could still speak as her body systems are rapidly shutting down. The doctor had given her 24 hours to live exactly 24 hours ago"
"Sir, once again I'm truly sorry for keeping you out here waiting" She continued. "These are her last moments. Please follow me."

I stood up and was guided by the nurse into the hospital room and right from the doorway, she announced "Your grandson is here ma". The old woman was filled with joy as her eyes lit up. She looked me in the eyes with smile on her face and with all the might left in her weak body, she said "Son, I know you would come see me".

I sat close to her, holding her hands and interlocking our fingers. I then squeezed slightly as to show affection. She squeezed back and said "Thanks son". She tried speaking again but was too exhausted, instead she held her gaze onto my eyes with a smile on her face. For several minutes, we held hands until she closed her eyes and rested.
IMG_20180228_020020_769.JPG Image source

I sat close to her in silence for nearly an hour while she maintained a soft grip of my hands. Then slowly the grip loosened and her breathing became slower. Initially, I thought she was falling into a deeper sleep but not until her breathing stopped altogether.

I let go of her lifeless hand and summoned the nurse using the emergency call button. The nurse then rushed in, covered the body with a white sheet, recorded a few notes on her desk, and then began to offer her condolences… She said she was very sorry for my loss and asked if we had made any burial arrangements. "I don't even know her name" I said. The nurse was furious and asked "What do you mean? She's your grandmother".

"No she's not" I re-affirmed. "I had never met her in my life before not until I stepped my foot into this room. I'm here at the hospital waiting for my friend who sustained an injury during a football match and was undergoing surgery."

The nurse was confused. "Why did you sit beside her for the last hour if you didn't know her? Why didn't you speak up?" she questioned.

I smiled and said "Well, I knew she wasn't my grandmother but from my observations and findings, she needed to see her grandson. I also knew that her real grandson, if he ever existed wasn't going to make it on time. Curiosity made me follow you into the room and as soon as she saw me and smiled, I knew her vision was so blurred that she thought I was her grandson and knowing how desperate she was to see him, I decided to play along."

Time is quantified in hours and the value of our lives is equivalent to the sum of every hour we spend. Our lives are measured by the value we provide to others and opportunities to provide these value are everywhere.

How have you spent the last hour of your life?

Let this question sink in. Let it inspire you…

Sort:  

I'm deeply disappointed.

I placed my trust in the people I agreed to mentor and this is the second time this kind of thing has happened.

https://www.snopes.com/glurge/juststay.asp

This particular account is not a true story, however, but rather a work of short fiction authored by Roy Popkin in 1964. It was published under the title “Night Watch” in the September 1965 edition of Reader’s Digest and has subsequently been reprinted in a number of Chicken Soup for the … Soul collections of inspirational pieces.

I will not be taken for a fool. You are disrespecting me by trying to trick me like this.

Please don't try to join in with the mentorship group again.

I'm really really sorry @michelle.gent. I feel very ashamed of myself now that my name is associated with evil, some are even calling me thief and criminal. It's ok if you are angry, I would have done same. But please, for the sake of the good woman you are, I'm sorry. Put me back into the mentorship group. I know you have a good heart, I felt very touched when you flagged some persons but still removed the flag, it shows you have a forgiving heart and I know my case will not be different. @michelle.gent, accept my apologies

          Congratulations you have been upvoted because you, or a friend left a post in the NewbieResteem Post promotion Box. Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.

Vote removed, the remark below should be for the real Author: Roy Popkin in 1964 published under the title “Night Watch”

To members of the "Nigerian Community, that are nice responsible and Adult please educate this person in proper steemit etiquette, please do not downvote him, just educate him, and if need mute him.

          Nicely written short story, I felt there was a beginning, a middle and an end, I generally do not see all three in a short like that story. He is in the hospital waiting room, we are not sure why, action takes place (sitting with the dying old woman), and then we learn why he was there. During the action phase we learn a small life lesson/moral. S a well written story. Thank you.


                   

Clicking on the images will take you to "Newbie Resteem Initiative info" - Our Discord Channel - And abh12345's page

We invite you to use our tag (#newbieresteemday) to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

I thought I'd reply to your post @bashadow, and let you know that I removed my vote from @brightex's story as it is a copy of someone else's work.

@brightex is now no longer in my Mentorship group because this is the second time he's done this kind of thing.

Thank you for that info, I try to do a quick check on comments for cheetah bot remarks, will have to look closer on future votes. I started to try to help people get a leg up, but some just take advantage. I do like what you are doing to help aspiring writers.

I am so so sorry ma, please temper justice with mercy @michelle.gent

So touching bro, you really did well to occupy that vacant space for the old woman.

@brightex, I am trying to help people get a leg up, unlike most people I do not believe Nigerians to be scammers and schemers, I have a lot of respect for people like @greenrun fro Nigeria, and He is an Honorable man, you sir are not. When I am done removing my vote I will be muting you so I will never see another post from you. I know my votes were only $0.020 cents at most, because I was trying to reach out and help a lot of new users, and most of them appreciated what little my vote and comment was worth. I would report you to @steemcleaners and @cheetah bot, but It is morning for me and I am still waking up. One suggestion before I go, change your ways, be honest, be polite and be real, there is enough thievery and violence on the internet, you do not need to add to it.

@bashadow, I'm truly sorry for my action. Please you don't have to report me to anyone or cheetah. I promise that it will never repeat itself again. Please temper justice with mercy. If it ever happens again, then you can do whatever you like with my account. I'm truly sorry

Downvoted for plagiarism

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66