The problem with the I was followed in Walmart story

in #stories5 years ago

I am going to rant about something I have seen popping up on Facebook over recent years

And it is the some man and or woman was following me, and I think they were going to kidnap me or my children. Not saying nothing bad like that hasn't ever happened there it has, but it is not happening at the rate people are claiming it is. And just because you see someone a few times in a store doesn't mean they are following you. There are only so many places in a store people can be, and if you arrive around the same time, it is very possible you will see a few people over and over again if you pay attention.

That said if you think you are being followed by someone intending to harm you

There are a few things you can do. My favorite is to confront them, ask them are you following me? Normally a confrontation will get a predator to back off because they don't want victims that fight back, or you can go to management. But by all means if you believe someone is following you and may try to kidnap you or your children, take your cellphone out and call 911 or what ever your emergency services is in your country. But if you don't do any of those things and you go on social media spreading the story you were followed you are spreading unnecessary fear.

Did you know that malls are closing all over the place

But Walmarts are every where, they are climate controlled and elderly people and those who have heart issues or other health issues walk for their health around these stores. Any big box store really that is open 24/7 will have health walkers in their store. Sometimes older folks don't realize they are being creepy, they maybe lonely and miss their families who live out of state. I talked to a man not long ago as I was shopping and he walked with me as we headed to the check out. My grandson said Hi to him and he said hi back, it brightened his day, his only son and grandchildren live in Arizona and he see them twice a year once when he goes and visits and once when they come home for Christmas, he misses them and when little ones say hi it brightens his day. I understand that feeling as I am alone a lot and feel lonely at times and sometimes I go shopping just to have small talk conversations with people.

I also sometimes strike up conversations with people with kids

I give them my business card and it had led to a few additional clients for me as a photographer. But these stories create fear, when in reality yes there are some bad people out there in the world, but the majority of the people are good people. They don't want to harm others and most would even put themselves in harms way to help others, I seen it, shoot the whole country saw it on 9/11. Most people don't want to hurt you. Most people are just as lonely for human interaction as you are. Take a moment and say hello to an older person in a store, offer to help get something off a high shelf for them. Take 5 minutes to have a conversation with a stranger, that interaction could truly mean the world.

I don't want to see anymore I was followed in Walmart stories unless it starts like this

I was followed in Walmart and it felt bad, so I called the cops and went straight to management to make sure I stayed safe, the police investigated and they either arrested or let go or what ever the case maybe, but I know that won't happen because there are people out there, that have been conditioned to fear strangers, and have become paranoid because of these unfounded stories. Always be vigilant about safety but your flight or fight instinct is there and you should trust it because not everyone is out to harm you.

Peace and Love

social media done right updated.jpg

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85