The chip that missed the plate - Humorous Short story - Creative writing

in #stories6 years ago

As I was serving up my gourmet dinner of veggie burger and chips this evening, I encountered one of the most courageous chips (french fries) I have ever had the pleasure of meeting....

Let me fill you in

This beautiful chip glanced across my plate and sadly fell onto the floor.
Not a couple of 'em, just one.
All on his own,
on the cold, dirty floor.
A shame indeed, but nothing incredible so far, I know. Please hear me out...

I took pity on that chip

Instinctively, I felt my heart go out to that little guy.
The epic journey this chip must have been through....the stories he could share, from starting life underground, god-knows-where, as a potato all the way to ending up on my plate!
Well, my kitchen floor.

Looking down at this lonely yellow fellow, robbed of it's destiny at the last hurdle I decided to accept that this must be it's true fate and perhaps this happened for a reason?

Perhaps he was some kind of hero?!

...Yes that must be it! The one that fell to save all the other chips from falling!
He will be talked about for centuries in potato folklore!
This day will be celebrated in honour of him for saving the fate of all the other chips on the plate!....

I suddenly came to my senses

Noticing the food that I actually did manage to successfully navigate onto my plate was rapidly getting cold, I realised I had to get a move on.
I turned back, crouched down and picked up that tragic little guy.
Que sera sera! I said and through it into the food bin. See ya mate!

It bounced back out...

What!! Come on little guy! Nice try, but I can't eat you, the floor is filthy!
Again I through him towards the bin.
From point blank range.

To my astonishment it caught a perfect bounce on an old piece of orange peel.....
and landed at my feet. Again.

And there he sat.
Looking up at me.

I slid back into my fantasy

Praise the chip that never gave up! The chip that would not take no for an answer!
This truely is a chip who's destiny lies elsewhere!

At that moment I felt my heart take over,
Uh oh.
I just had to pay the ultimate respect to this champion....

......

So, I picked it up...

......

Blew the dust off....

......

Looked straight at him and said
For that, I'm gonna eat you first...




It was the best chip I have ever had!

Original story by Mark Nicolson @nicolcron
January 10th 2018

:)
Hope you enjoyed my little story! It's a true story too!
Spare a thought for all the food that takes a different path through life!
Hahahaha!

Stay weird everyone!
Peace!
LOVE IS ALL!!
Mark x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16