I Made These!

in #steepshot5 years ago

a1ac4dac-9f43-4ce5-b584-9f0e2cf0b71d.jpeg

18081c55-868f-41d1-97a8-59ee9b08aaa6.jpeg

d42aef4d-5900-435a-b27d-9fa7fc4fcf81.jpeg


I have always wanted to learn how to make beautiful jewelry. After years of indecisiveness, I spent this weekend at a jewelry workshop learning how to smith silver and set stones! What an amazing experience! It was really cool to see how jewelry pieces are put together, then try it myself and walk away with my own handmade rings! Yesterday we made rings with oval/round flat-backed stones (cabochons). We learned how to solder, polish, and set. Today we upped the difficulty and used our new skills to set free-form tumbled stones and used different metals for the bezel. the ring I made yesterday turned out ok (third photo), but I am really super stoked on the one I made today. The contrasting brass bezel on the white stone makes me happy 😁 and this simple stones are striking in their minimalism and contrast with each other.
I think I may have a new addiction! I feel an equipment shopping spree coming on!

When was the last time you learned something completely new and exciting? Is there a skill or art form you have been wanting to learn?


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

good job! you should make me a ring! some kind of manly-mythical-power-conju-ring

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87