Introducing My #steemutt, Amstel!

in #steemutt7 years ago (edited)

This is our beagle, Amstel. He's, by far, the smartest and most expressive dog I've ever owned.

Amstel2.jpg

We’ve had Amstel for nearly ten years now. About a year after we brought him home he had his first seizure and we discovered he has epilepsy. Thankfully, 1000mg of Omega 3 (fish oil) on his food every day helps with this.

Amstel Porch.jpg

Amstel enjoys walks, car rides, running with sticks in his mouth, and any opportunity to make us laugh. We live in Minnesota so we’ve trained him to walk on the treadmill to stay in shape during the frigid winters of the Upper Midwest. He now walks on the treadmill without a leash and loves it.

Many thanks to @tuck-fheman for creating this new category!


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Very cute, looks like a loyal companion!

Thanks, @sirwinchester! He certainly is.

what a face that boy has, it's made to melt hearts! Eye of the Tiger...cracked me up.

: ) He's semi-famous around the neighborhood. People remember his name but not ours!

I know how that is! My former dog Daisy (pitbull) used to elicit the most friendly behavior from people. In fact one time someone came down from their porch as we were walking by and begged to walk my dog saying he had watched us walking for years and just had to be a part of it.Lol!

That's hilarious! I love that breed. Pitbulls are such great dogs. We've experienced similar things with Amstel. We always say he gets at least one compliment a day from strangers. : )

one a day is a pretty impressive record! give him a pat for me

: ) I sure will.

Amstel is adorable and so good on a treadmill!
I will have to try the Omega 3 for my Chewie. I believe her seizures come from being allergic to fleas. She rarely had an episode when we lived in NY but it seems the Florida fleas are immune to traditional treatments so she gets a lot of baths. And when I miss a few days she usually gets a seizure.

Thank you! Hounds are so motivated by food that he was really easy to train to use the treadmill. Yes, I would try the fish oil capsules. I'm not sure how it would work for seizures that are allergy-related but it's good for so many other things too since it's an anti-inflammatory.

looks good:) give him a treat! lol

Thanks! He gets plenty of those! Lol

Congratulations for your beautiful pet dear friend @ericvancewalton, many should follow his example and go for a walk, beautiful pet thank you for sharing

Thanks, @jlufer! He's one in a million.

He's really a beautiful doggie!!! He seems very friendly, congrats ^_^

Thank you! He's got such a good demeanor, so gentle and generally happy.

So, nice :)

he is adorable :) you are both lucky for having each other . :-)

Excellent post! I like your work My friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91