Art in the subways 86th Street Subway post 2

in #steemusa6 years ago (edited)

86th Street Subway post 2

Continuing on with my series of colorful art in the subway stations in NYC, this post will take us into the 86th Street Station on the 2nd Ave Q Line

86th Street Subway Chuck Close-8.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F4 1/30 ISO 640
Click here to view larger


This is another Self Portrait by Chuck Close the artist, his work in this station is called “Subway Portraits” which I must admit grace me a chuckle when I saw it as I am terrible at coming up with creative titles for photos and its good to know a famous and talented Artist like Chuck also chooses simple descriptive titles

86th Street Subway Chuck Close-9.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F4 1/30 ISO 500
Click here to view larger



This is another one of the art pieces, and I wonder who this person is
86th street station.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F4 1/30 ISO 640
Click here to view larger


Does anyone recognize any of his subjects in this post?

86th Street Subway Chuck Close-11.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F4 1/30 ISO 500
Click here to view larger


These large mosaic portraits are made with glass and ceramic mosaic tiles, I love this style of work in these mosaics they are so cool to see .

86th Street Subway Chuck Close-12.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F4 1/30 ISO 500
Click here to view larger


And this is the last of the portraits I got photos of, I like the diversity in styles in the various portraits

what do you think of these and which is your favorite?


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.777922lat -73.951842 long 86th Street Subway Station NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

thanks so much appreciate that

Great Series ! I may be relocating back to NY soon. Amazing photo opportunities everywhere !!

Thanks
And yes always new things to see and shoot in the city

Wow those are really large portraits! Lol yes definitely a straight forward title for them! 😄

they surely are and so cool to see for sure

Wow you never cease to amaze us with awesome images.

Thanks so kiNd if you to say

Those are all great, but I think I like his self portrait best! Wonderful photos!

thanks 😎👍😎

I do prefer this portrait of him

I love the Photos.The second to the last photo resembles an Actress I know. I can't remember her name but she acts as Police detective in most of her movies.

I thought she loved led familiar as well but can’t think of her name

Ok, that means we are in the same box. Lol

These are all cool!

Aren’t they just 😎

Yes, they are! 😁

😎👍😎

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 7 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Are these photos that have been transfer printed on to the mosaic tile or paintings? They are pretty impressive either way. Great capture Jay.

I believe the mosaics were made by hand from photos but I am not 100% sure

Beautiful photos. The last one is my personal favorite.

Thanks it’s one of my favorites as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16