Coffee and Philosophy: Expansion

in #steemtrail7 years ago (edited)


Today's mug is brought to us by those intangible emotions that are impossible to measure.


I write and reflect a lot about the less easily defined or understood emotions on my personal blog and I tend to think of them in terms of expansion. There reaches a point, I consider it self awareness, but feel free to call it whatever you want, to where things stop existing in black and white or easily defined metrics. I often wonder if there are ways to measure things like awareness, love, happiness, joy, or gratitude. I haven't conceived of a way to measure these things and there are plenty of people that I'm sure have spent their lives trying to do so and I won't waste mine following in their footsteps.

My perspective on these things is that they simply expand and we feel them more deeply. I don't think there is ever a way to really feel them less, but we can deny feeling them. Denial is the way to cope with feeling or knowing something that you don't want to accept is true. For example, I can love my parents even though I feel they probably weren't ever ready to be parents at any point in their lives. On that note, who can really say when anyone is ever really ready for something like that. Perhaps parenting is just steadily expanding your awareness and love for someone on a continual basis and doing the best you can for them. Then again that seems to be what love is in general in my mind. Namaste.

Sort:  

Awareness and love can only be measured by a sincere heart. Because consciousness and love are what the heart feels. If the heart is good then it will be okay else. If the heart is rotten, it will be bad and evil everything. A heart based on a much more sincere faith in love. The hearts of those who believe, will realize it all. So the medium / tool for measuring awareness and love is not a barometer such as rollers or scales, but a clean heart from all heart diseases.
Thanks

Hi^^ Thank you for sharing, I'm following you!

I don't know if I necessarily agree with you that you can't feel something "less", but I really do like your explanation and thought process behind this idea!

Maybe it's that we choose to feel other things more! For example love and fear go hand in hand as they are opposites. To love someone means that you will lose them at some point. We all lose everyone at some point in a physical sense, because we all die at some point. I prefer to think of our existence as energetic and that we all meet back at the source consciousness and recycle, so there is no real fear of loss.

Thank you for giving us perspective each and every day.

It's funny that you said that. It hadn't really set in that I was sharing my perspective through these posts as I tend to always feel like I'm just exploring the concepts and wrapping my own mind around them. Thanks for your perspective!

I have a friend that compares these experiences of love, joy, peace, etc. to appreciation of music. Especially of more challenging pieces, such as classical music.

For example, two people can appreciate a symphony by Mozart. The first, a novice to classical music, can whistle the melody and intuitively knows that it is quality musicianship. The second, a seasoned musician who has put years into her craft, can pick out the complexity, depth, and subtlety of every measure. Both individuals can enjoy and appreciate the experience of the symphony, but they are at different levels. Using your word, you could say the second person has "expanded" in knowledge and appreciation of music.

The nice thing about this is that you never "arrive!" There is always more to expand into, as love is infinite!

well put @abishai we all see things through the prism of our own making...individual perception is an ever expanding spectrum of knowing now what we didn't know then...when spread over the entire population. The fact that we all see the same thing just a little differently is one of the things we all have in common

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

I am all of my days of awareness. At this time tomorrow I will be but one more day closer to the day my awareness reaches it's endpoint in this realm of existence. What lies beyond this growing awareness is anybody's guess.

I thank you @philosophy-trail for adding to the me today that I will be tomorrow, and going forward.

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

Feelings cannot be measured that I know of however I am sure at some point the scientists will find a way with heart beating, blood flow, eyes or some other way. LOL Parents are never ready. Yes they have screwed up many of us. I completely get it. However if a child could perhaps be raised in an environment of wisdom and sound doctrine in a utopia free from the messed up world it might happen to their off spring. doubt that is possible. Parents do try with what limited wisdom and experience they have. i just think they are not instructed well as children so they are going mess up their own children. Great post.

What is this utopia?
(According to Webster)
Definition of utopia
1: Define utopia: an imaginary place in which the government, laws, and social conditions are perfect —

It does not exist. I read post here on steemit referring to this "utopia" and I think Why are people setting their sites on this concept? Perfect laws and government does not exist. Laws and government are not natural. They cause surpression, prejudice, corruption. People can govern themselves. If we govern ourselves, feel deep down for the truth of right and wrong, living in loving kindness we can achieve harmony by ourselves. No ruling system. The ruling system is God alone and God is in us.

I was just thinking the same thoughts about my parents, than I find this post. ;)
The truth is that most of the parents weren't ever ready to be parents at all and they are the reason why people on this planet are so screwed. Just saying. ;)
Namaste.

That's not true. Parenting is a learning process. People can choose to learn or screw it up. Most likely if you screw up with parenting you screw up on other life lessons/milestones too. I must defend as s young married family if 8, it's incredulous that people past judgement on the family life because they have bad experiences. Family is life. They are your kingdom. Your tribe, your legacy. Take are what means anything lasting in this earth. They are what is real. People are screwed up from being repressed, taking advantage of, and trying to be put into boxes, trying to conform to society when they are meant to be free, with no worries about egotistical things. People are screwed up from their diets, chemicals that have been introduced to their systems, drugs that have stole their minds. Only the strong genes will survive. Don't be living life in fear. That's all their is, love or fear. You can choose love and forgive your parents and keep adding beauty to this world my friend. Peace and love to you always and forever.

Lord of the Truth has spoken.

Enjoyable post. The nature of that which can be measured isn't necessarily understood, and that which is understood, is not necessarily measurable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98